Favorites Edit

ICC Cricket World Cup: 5 times a team went undefeated en route World Cup glory

2.95K   //    Timeless

#2 West Indies,1979

West Indies won their second World Cup in 1979
West Indies won their second World Cup in 1979

It is quite astonishing to realise that the West Indies won successive World Cups in 1975 and 1979, but what's more astonishing is the fact that they went through the two tournaments without a defeat! Clive Lloyd was at the helm again as he orchestrated yet another triumph for the Windies.

Players like Viv Richards, Gordon Greenidge and Michael Holding struck fear in the opposition camp way before the match could even commence and that is why many teams struggled against the Caribbean unit. The Windies topped their group, which consisted of New Zealand, Sri Lanka and India.

In the semi-finals, it was a masterclass from the Windies opening pair as both Gordon Greenidge and Desmond Haynes scored brilliant half-centuries to help their side post a total of 293. Pakistan did put up a valiant effort but scoring 294 against the fearsome Windies bowling unit was always going to be a mighty tough task.

Clive Lloyd and company reached their second final in 4 years as they faced the hosts- England for the trophy. The English unit possessed some of the best talents but unfortunately, things didn't turn out to plan for them.

England were treated with a Viv Richards special as the commanding batsman smashed the English bowlers all around the park in his innings of 138. Windies won the match by 92 runs and claimed their second world title.