Favorites Edit

Australia Cricket Team


Aug 01 - TEST
England VS Australia

Shaun Marsh Batsman - 36
Alex Carey Wicket Keeper - 28
Nathan Coulter-Nile Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 32
Adam Zampa Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 27
Steve Smith Batsman Right Handed 30
Pat Cummins Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 26
Kane Richardson Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 28
Mitchell Starc Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 29
Jason Behrendorff Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 29
Usman Khawaja Batsman - 33
Nathan Lyon Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 32
Glenn Maxwell All-rounder Right Handed 31
David Warner Opening Batsman - 33
Aaron Finch Opening Batsman Right Handed 33
Marcus Stoinis All-rounder Right Handed 30

Australia national cricket team is synonymous with victory. That has been the case for as long as most remember. At the start, they had the help of the greatest batsman to have ever graced the game, Don Bradman and since then they have managed to conquer every obstacle with a winning mentality that has taken them to a level that is almost unheard of in professional sport.

The Australia team is governed by Cricket Australia and they are the joint-oldest team in international cricket along with England. They took part in the first-ever Test and the maiden One Day International (ODI) match, both of which were against England. They continued to be the pioneers as they were one half of the first-ever T20I match and kick started the format that has gone on to revolutionize the way that the game is being played.

The Australia cricket board has always placed their emphasis on winning and that is evident in their incredible track record in international cricket. No team has won more Tests or has a better win-loss ratio or win percentage in Tests.

The Australia team have also won the World Cup a staggering five times, including three consecutive wins in 1999, 2003 and 2007. They were the first team to appear in four consecutive World Cup finals and win three consecutive World Cups. They also went on an incredible 34-match unbeaten in the World Cup, a streak that was finally ended in the 2011 World Cup by Pakistan.

Their track record is equally impressive in the Champions Trophy, which they have won twice, the most of any side, along with India, who have also won it twice. They are also the only team to have won the Champions Trophy back-to-back, a feat they accomplished courtesy of their wins in 2006 and 2009.

The only format in which the Australia national team hasn't been able to live up to their lofty standards is T20Is, where they have never won a World T20. That remains the only title that they are yet to get their hands and the Australia cricket board will be hoping that that is something that is made a mere footnote in the annals of history as they host the next World T20 in 2020.

Throughout their illustrious history, Australia cricket players have managed to make their mark on the international arena. The current Australia national cricket team roster includes several such players, from David Warner to Mitchell Starc. The current Australia cricket team captain is Steve Smith, who leads the side across all three formats. Currently though, it is in test cricket Australia have managed to make the most impact, much like their captain Steve Smith. The current Australia cricket coach is former World Cup-winning player Darren Lehmann.

The list of Australia cricket players is a who's who of the best players to have ever played the game. From the likes of Sir Don Bradman, Allan Border, Steve Waugh and Ricky Ponting to the likes of Glenn McGrath, Shane Warne and Steve Smith.

Ricky Ponting holds the national record for most Test runs and caps. While the runs record is his own courtesy of his tally of 13,378 runs, the record for most Test caps is one he jointly-holds with another legendary Australia cricket team captain, Steve Waugh. Both players have featured in 168 Tests, a record that is only bettered by Sachin Tendulkar's 200 in the international arena. One Test record that Ponting doesn't have is the one for most Test wickets, which belongs to Shane Warne, courtesy of his 708 Test wickets in just 145 matches.

Dominating the records once again in the ODI format is legendary Australia cricket team captain, Ricky Ponting. Not only has he played the most ODIs (375) by an Australian player and scored the most runs (13,291), he also holds the Australian record for most centuries (30) and fifties (82). Glenn McGrath's tally of 381 wickets helps him top the list for most wickets by an Australian bowler.

Although Ricky Ponting featured in the first-ever T20I against New Zealand, aside from the record for highest score on T20I debut, he holds no other record. David Warner has the most runs for Australia in the format and is also the country's most capped player while Shane Watson holds the record for most wickets.

Australia cricket schedule for the upcoming year features the ongoing Test tour of South Africa followed by a two-month break during which a majority of Australia cricket players will feature in the IPL. Following which, the Australia national team will travel to England to take part in a five-match ODI series and a solitary T20I.

Australia cricket fixtures then sees a home series against Bangladesh sandwiched between away tours against Zimbabwe and Pakistan. Following the latter, Australia cricket schedule for the home season sees them take on South Africa in the limited-overs tour before a Test series against India to close out 2018.

For all the latest Australia cricket news, Sportskeeda is your one-stop shop, where you can check the Australia national cricket team page for the latest cricket news & updates.

Fetching more content...