ICC World Cup 2015: India vs Bangladesh - Quick flicks of the match
Once bitten, twice shy?
Ever heard of an umpire retiring hurt? Well that could have been a first at the MCG on Thursday. Midway into the 29th over of the Indian innings, on-field umpire, Aleem Dar got bitten by one of those infamous wasps in the ground. He got stung just behind his collar, and needed a lot of attention from the players, match officials and co-umpires, before he was comfortable enough to resume his umpiring duties.
In the second ball of the 34th over, Suresh Raina went far too across while facing a Mashrafe Mortaza delivery. Missing the bat, the ball thudded on to the pad and the players went up in appeal in unison. The umpire seemed disinterested, however, Mortaza seemed convinced.
Once the DRS was taken, replays showed that a miniscule portion of the ball had landed outside the leg stump – thereby making the call invalid. The onfield decision stood. Later on, when more replays were aired, the ball tracking analysis showed how the ball would have hit middle & off.
After Raina narrowly survived the lbw shout, batting on 10, the next lucky moment was reserved for Rohit Sharma. In one of the more blatant gaffes that one will come across on a cricket field, a high full toss from Rubel Hossain to Sharma, was mistakenly called a no-ball. As the ball went sailing into the hands of the fielder at mid-wicket, the Bangladeshi players celebrated first, and then looked distraught upon realisation.
The send off
Virat Kohli who is famous for his send offs, got one from none other than Rubel Hossain. Hossain who was pumped up after dismissing Kohli early on, was eager to be a little more in-your-face to the Delhi batsman, but thanks to the good sense of his teammates, got held back.
When Rubel came out to bat during the fag end of the Bangladeshi innings, there was a lot of chatter around and his dismissal seemed iminent. When it did come however, Kohli shook his head and let out a wry smile. Learning quickly, are we now, Virat?
Mahendra Singh Dhoni notched up his 100th win as an ODI captain, and became the first non-Australian to do so. He is now third on the list, that is led by Ricky Ponting and has Alan Border in the second place. A stupendous feat indeed.