Favorites Edit

India defeat Pakistan in first Blind T20 Asia Cup

19.97K   //    24 Jan 2016, 16:26 IST
The Indian team came out victorious against Pakistan

India defeated Pakistan in the first ever championship of Blind T20 Asia Cup. India batted first and finished their innings with 208 runs while losing 5 wickets in 20 overs. Pakistan's chase came up short as they were able to score only 164 runs.

The match was played at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Kochi. Pakistan came in to the match unbeaten, so far in the event, with six points. India came in standing second with four points. Sri Lanka were one rung below at the third position with four points as well.

In the group stages, Pakistan had defeated India by 19 runs. In that match, Pakistan players had come in wearing black armbands to show support with the victims of Bacha Khan University (Charsadda) victims.

Nisar Ali and Badar Munir helped Pakistan with a partnership of 109 runs in the earlier match against India. Munir had added 58 runs off 32 balls. Ali added 56 runs from 48 balls. In reply for India Parkash and Ajay Reddy had maintained a 97 run partnership.

Prakash added 75 runs from 56 balls. He hit 10 fours and one six in that match. Reddy was run out after scoring 19 runs. India failed to chase the target of 192 runs in that match as the finished with 172 runs.

Pakistan came in with momentum on their side, as they had also defeated Sri Lanka by a whopping 90 runs in the event. That was largely in part toMohammad Akram's 44 runs off 30 balls. he formed a 79 run partnership with Ayyaz Muhammad. Ayyaz was named Man of the Match for that match as he finished with 34 runs from 19 balls.

“We have finally qualified for the final of the first Asia Cup which is a great achievement for the entire team,” Pakistan Blind Cricket Team captain Anees Javed had said. “This match was not a difficult one but I am glad that the whole team put their efforts together in this win.”

In the final, though, the Indian team came out on top to claim the championship in the first Blind T20 Asia Cup.

Name's Siddarth Sharma- Hoop, run, write, rinse, repeat. Awards- Sportskeeda Basketball Writer of the Year (2016)- Sportskeeda Veteran Keeda (2010-2012)-
Fetching more content...