Favorites Edit

India to play T20I series in Ireland after IPL 2018

Aadya Sharma
10.88K   //    10 Jan 2018, 16:17 IST

India and Ireland have played only one T20I before
India and Ireland have played only one T20I before

India will have a small addition to their busy 2018 cricketing schedule after the BCCI announced a two-match T20I tour to Ireland at the end of June.

The team will travel to Ireland to play two T20Is before they embark on their tour to England in July. The two matches will be held on 27th and 29th June 2018, in Dublin.

This is the first time the Men in Blue are making a trip to Ireland since 2007. The last time the side was there Ireland, they played an ODI at Belfast, winning the game by nine wickets via the Duckworth Lewis method.

Apart from the one-off game in Belfast, India and Ireland have played only two more ODIs against each other, one during India's triumphant World Cup campaign in 2011 (at the Chinnaswamy stadium in Bengaluru), and another at Seddon Park in March 2015, during the World Cu that year.

Interestingly, it was Rohit Sharma's debut international game for India.

After the end of the IPL in May, India will squeeze in the Ireland tour before their visit to England for a 3-match T20I, 3-match ODI, and five-match Test series. It is also expected that some players will head to England before the others to get a feel of the conditions and play some County games.

The only time India faced off against Ireland in the game's shortest format was in the 2009 World T20 at Nottingham, where the Indians won by a comfortable margin of 8 wickets.

The 11th full member of the ICC, Ireland was handed Test status by the international governing body, along with Afghanistan, in June last year. Their first T20I ever was against Scotland at Belfast in 2008 and they subsequently played the World T20 (their first appearance in the tournament) the following year.

Topics you might be interested in:
Aadya Sharma
Fetching more content...