⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

India vs West Indies 2019: India's Predicted XI for the first T20I

04 Dec 2019, 09:34 IST

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli
Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli

In India’s next limited-overs assignment, the Men in Blue will host West Indies in a three-match T20I series, starting December 6th. The first match will be played in Hyderabad as both teams will aim to kick-start the series with a win. The Virat Kohli-led side will have a daunting task in hand as they face a Caribbean team boasting a rich T20I history. 

However, on the contrary, India have white-washed West Indies in each of their last two series encounters. With the ICC T20 World Cup on the horizon, the hosts will fancy a full-strength squad with some of the limited-overs regulars making a return to the T20I set-up. Leg-spinner Kuldeep Yadav along with his state teammate Bhuvneshwar Kumar were the major additions from India’s last T20I squad against Bangladesh. 

The Men in Blue will aim to play a settled line-up for the course of the next few months, keeping a sight over the T20I World Cup next year. Most of the players pick themselves except a couple of spots which are up for grabs.

It is highly likely that Shivam Dube, who was impressive in his last outing against Bangladesh, will start the series as India look to groom a back-up option to the injured Hardik Pandya. KL Rahul, who was earlier expected to sit out, will open alongside Rohit Sharma in the absence of Shikhar Dhawan. 

KL Rahul
KL Rahul

Kohli, after missing the T20Is against Bangladesh, will bat at his favoured spot at No.3. Shreyas Iyer, who has been piling on runs consistently, will play in the middle-order, while Rishabh Pant is expected to come at No.5 in one of the most important series of his career. 

Sanju Samson might have to wait for his opportunity but his presence will force Pant to feel the need to perform in each possible opportunity. 

In the bowling department, India are likely to go in with a three-men pace attack of Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Mohammad Shami. Ravindra Jadeja might pip Kuldeep for his batting skills and partner Yuzvendra Chahal as the other spinner in the team.

Also see – Bangladesh Premier League Schedule

India’s predicted XI: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli (C), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami

Fetching more content...