Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

IPL 2017: Ajit Agarkar picks his all-time IPL XI

Agarkar had no place for MS Dhoni in his side.

News 19 May 2017, 20:25 IST
Agarkar was one of the best ODI bowlers for India

We have seen a lot of former and present cricketers pick their all-time XI for the Lords Cricket Ground initiative. On the other hand, former Indian pacer Ajit Agarkar decided to pick an IPL XI while speaking to ESPN Cricinfo. Ricky Ponting had done the same for Cricket Australia a few weeks ago. 

Also Read: Ricky Ponting picks his all-time IPL XI

Agarkar was a limited overs specialist and was one of the best ODI bowlers ever produced by India. He played 191 ODIs for India in a career which spanned almost 10 years and he picked up 288 wickets at an average of 27.85. 

Here is his all-time IPL XI: 

Openers: Chris Gayle and Virender Sehwag

It comes as no surprise with Gayle being picked as the opener of the side. He is arguably the greatest ever T20 batsman till date and has decimated all opposition bowlers with ease. He holds the record for the highest ever T20 score when he smashed his way to 175 run knock for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. 

Sehwag might have been a questionable choice by the former Indian speedster since his IPL average is not too great compared to his average for the Indian team

Middle-order: Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, AB de Villiers (wk)

Raina becomes a completely different player whenever the IPL arrives. He has never failed to perform and is the highest run-getter in the history of the tournament. 

Kohli had a poor season as RCB just managed 7 points in 14 games but despite that, he scored four half-centuries. He was untouchable in the 2016 edition with nearly 1000 runs to his name. He is one of the best batsmen in the world today and Agarkar decided to make him the captain of the side.

Rohit Sharma opens the innings for India but has proved to be immensely successful for the Mumbai Indians in the middle-order. He has had a poor season with the bat and will be looking to turn that around when he opens the innings for India at the ICC Champions Trophy. 

Picking AB de Villiers at no. 6 comes as a surprise but the South African can decimate the opposition bowlers in any given situation. He could give the side the perfect start as well as a perfect finish to the innings.

Bowlers: Sunil Narine, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, Harbhajan Singh, Ashish Nehra

Agarkar decided to go with five bowlers in his side. However, Narine has shown his pinch hitting ability and can prove to play a big role as a batsman as well. Malinga is the highest wicket taker in the history of the IPL but is currently going through a slump and is not as effective as he was.

Jasprit Bumrah, on the other hand, is hitting all the right areas and is one of the best T20 bowlers in the world currently. His toe crushing yorkers are nearly impossible to pick up and his ability to contain the opposition’s run-rate makes him a big asset. 

Harbhajan Singh and Ashish Nehra are both veterans of the Indian cricket team and are still extremely effective in the T20 format. They are an asset to any side and can be match-winners on their given day. 

Fetching more content...