New User posted their first comment

Jasprit Bumrah wins men's breakthrough performance of the year award, Jemimah Rodrigues wins woman's breakthrough performance award

Jasprit Bumrah won an award at the Indian Sports honors
Jasprit Bumrah won an award at the Indian Sports honors
Aryan Sawhney
Modified 28 Feb 2019, 12:07 IST

What's the story?

Jasprit Bumrah won the men's breakthrough performance of the year through a poll conducted by the Indian Sports Honours. At the same time, Jemimah Rodrigues won the award for the women's breakthrough performance. These players were rewarded for exceptional breakthrough performances throughout the year.

In case you didn't know...

The Indian Sports Honour is a committee that awards athletes for excelling in sports and helps emerging athletes with the help of Virat Kohli foundation. They conducted a poll on their twitter account on various awards, of which one of them was an award on breakthrough performance of the year, which applies separately to both men and women.

The four nominees for the male award were Jasprit Bumrah, Rishabh Pant, Pawan Sherawat and Jeremy Lalrinnunga while the four nominees for the female award were Jemimah Rodrigues, Manu Bhaker, Manika Batra and Swapna Barman.

The heart of the matter

The poll ran for seven days, and Jasprit Bumrah was in the lead pretty much the entire time. Jasprit Bumrah garnered most of the attention due to his exceedingly good performances in his debut year of test cricket. Bumrah played a significant role in India clinching their first ever test series win in Australia and was brilliant as usual in the limited overs matches he played. He will be hoping to gain confidence from this award.

On the other hand, Jemimah Rodrigues got more than 50 percent of the votes which was due to her spectacular show in T20 Internationals and an impressive half-century in ODI cricket. She is just 18 years old, and this award should be a significant boost in confidence for her.

What’s next?

The ceremony for these awards was postponed by Virat Kohli due to the recent terror attack in Pulwama. These awards will help boost the player's confidence and help them achieve even more for their respective teams in the future. These athletes, as well as the athletes who were nominated but did not win, will look to consolidate their positions as top class athletes and achieve many more accolades for their country in the future.

Published 16 Feb 2019, 22:25 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit