Favorites Edit

Karbonn Smart KPL 2015 moved by a day

Press Release
746   //    26 Aug 2015, 20:00 IST
Stuart Binny (C) and KL Rahul (R)

Bangalore, August 26, 2015: The Karbonn Smart Karnataka Premier League 2015 has been moved by a day and will now be held from September 03 to September 20, 2015.

The schedule will remain the same with the dates being pushed by a day. As per the new schedule, the rest day will now be September 11 instead ofSeptember 10 and the final will take place on September 20.

According to Mr. Vijay Mruthyunjaya, Official Spokesperson, KSCA, The KPL Governing Council took the decision to move the tournament to enable Mangalore United and Namma Shivamogga benefit by having their star players Karun Nair and Stuart Binny available for their first match.

Incidentally, both teams are scheduled to play on the opening day.

Stuart Binny was flown in as the 16th player of the Indian team to Sri Lanka while Karun Nair replaced the injured Murali Vijay in the team.

About Karnataka State Cricket Association: The Karnataka State Cricket Association (formerly the Mysore Cricket Association) is committed to develop Karnataka as the premier cricketing state in the country. It aims to take the game to mofussil areas of the state for development at the grassroots level and to continuously promote the welfare of players. It was founded during the year 1933-34 and is affiliated to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The association made steady progress from 1934 to 1959 when the Silver Jubilee was celebrated to coincide with the visit of the Australian team to Bangalore to play against the Combined Universities XI.

In the late sixties the Association acquired its own cricket ground and the stadium now known as the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium came into being. Bangalore became a Test Centre, and several memorable Tests and ODIs, including the 1996 World Cup quarter-finals, have taken place here. The Karnataka State Cricket Association has grown from strength to strength and today is one of the best-organized State Cricket associations in the Country.

Topics you might be interested in:
Press Release
Fetching more content...