Favorites Edit

Brian Lara, Ian Botham to feature in all-star CPL charity match

2.34K   //    24 May 2014, 16:30 IST

Basseterre (St.Kitts), May 24 (IANS/CMC) West Indies batting star Brian Lara and legendary England all-rounder Ian Botham have been named as captains for an all-star charity Twenty20 clash, set to take place during this year's Caribbean Premier League.

The game, scheduled for Aug 12 at Warner Park here, is expected to bring together myriad cricket celebrities, past and present, and will serve as a key plank in the build up to the CPL final four days later, reports CMC.

British media personality Piers Morgan has already been confirmed to play for the XI led by Botham.

"I know how important cricket is to everyone in the Caribbean, and CPL has done a lot to reignite the region's love for the game," Botham said.

"St. Kitts is an amazing island of rare beauty, full of wonderful people, and I'm excited to give something back to the country through this charity match, as well as getting the chance to watch the closing stages of the CPL."

Lara, who quit international cricket in 2007, holds the West Indies record for the most Test runs, and also holds the record for the highest scores in Test and first class cricket.

The Trinidadian said he was looking forward to the contest and to the start of the CPL, which bowls off July 11 in Grenada.

"I've seen first hand the impact CPL has had on the region. Players and fans love it, it's great for our up and coming talent, and it provides an economic boost as well," the former West Indies captain said.

"I've always believed in the importance of giving back to the Caribbean, and this match will be a great way to do that. It's going to be fun to play with and against some old friends and reignite some old rivalries."

The game will form part of a hectic period in St. Kitts as Warner Park will host the six final preliminary games of the CPL starting from Aug 7, and will also play host to the semi-finals carded for Aug 13 and 14.

The CPL is in its second year and features six teams -- defending champions Jamaica Tallawahs, last year's losing finalists Guyana Amazon Warriors, Antigua Hawksbills, Barbados Tridents, St. Lucia Zouks and Trinidad and Tobago Red Steel -- playing 30 games across eight venues.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...