Favorites Edit

Last Year's Underdogs, This Year's Champs?

870   //    13 Mar 2010, 13:45 IST

Everybody has been asking the same question. Deccan Chargers were at the bottom of the table in IPL 2008. Then they changed their jersey and captain and rebounded spectacularly, winning the first match against KKR and going on to win the DLF IPL 2009.

Kolkata Knight Riders were in 2009 what Deccan Chargers were in IPL 2008. Brendon McCullum replacing Sourav Ganguly as the Captain, John Buchanan’s questionable theory of Multiple Captaincy, the whole fake IPL player mess – all of this triggered their downward spiral and they ended up standing last in the league.

The Kolkata team has now taken the same steps that Deccan Chargers took in 2009. The team changed the Captain; Ganguly is back as the permanent, undisputed skipper. They changed their Jersey color from Black to Purple. John Buchanan, who many claim was responsible for throwing the team into chaos of the team has been replaced by the astute Dav Whatmore.

Having made all these radical changes, the Kolkata Knight Riders, in the opening match yesterday, stunned the Depending Champs Deccan Chargers.

It seems the KKR team is trying to follow the Deccan Chargers blueprint; and this time, it will not be altogether shocking to see Dada Ganguly and Co lifting the DLF IPL cup on April 25th.

Fetching more content...