⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Kolkata Knight Riders


Mar 31 - T20
Royal Challengers Bangalore VS Kolkata Knight Riders

Nitish Rana Batsman - 27
Andre Russell All-rounder Right Handed 32
Manimaran Siddharth Bowler Left Arm Orthodox 22
Sandeep Warrier Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 29
Shubman Gill All-rounder Right Handed 21
Kuldeep Yadav Bowler Left Arm Unorthodox 26
Harry Gurney Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 34
Kamlesh Nagarkoti All-rounder Right Handed 21
Sunil Narine Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 32
Chris Green Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 27
Varun Chakravarthy All-rounder Right Handed 29
Pat Cummins Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 27
Siddhesh Lad Batsman Right Handed 28
Rinku Singh Batsman - 23
Shivam Mavi All-rounder Right Handed 22
Tom Banton Wicket Keeper Right Handed 22
Rahul Tripathi Batsman Right Handed 29
Dinesh Karthik Wicket Keeper Right Handed 35
Lockie Ferguson Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 29
Pravin Tambe Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 49
Nikhil Naik Batsman Right Handed 26
Prasidh Krishna Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 24
Eoin Morgan Middle Order Batsman - 34

Kolkata Knight Riders(KKR) is a cricket franchise based in Kolkata that competes in the Indian Premier League (IPL). In 2019 the team changed its anthem from “Korbo Lorbo Jeetbo” to “ Run Run Run”.

The Kolkata based team has Eden Gardens as its home ground. KKR’s home turf is a famous cricketing pilgrimage and reportedly world’s second largest stadium.

The Kolkata Knight Riders have been a strong team in the Indian Premier League. Their start was not as glorious but later on the team managed to build a stable squad which won them the league multiple times and gave them a good reputation.


Kolkata Knight Riders have participated in the league along with seven other teams since its very inception in 2008. The franchise is owned by famous Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan along with fellow celebrity Juhi Chawla and businessman Jay Mehta.

KKR have always had a tremendous fan base, locals there are sport lovers and the grand celebrity status and popularity of Shah Rukh Khan has contributed to the same.

Prominent achievements

In the first match of IPL, Brendon Mccullum blasted 158 runs from a mere 73 balls. It was an outstanding opening to the first season of IPL which set the benchmark for short format of the game.

In the 2012 season of the IPL, KKR managed to beat tremendously in form team of Chennai in the finals to win the league. The fans were overjoyed after their first title which they craved for in the past few years.

KKR won the IPL again in the year 2014, becoming one of the most successful teams in the League. The team also managed to play in the 2014 Champions League but was defeated by Chennai in the finals.


Knight Riders had a different set of players before 2011. Team captain Sourav Ganguly was a senior influential player of the squad but the team did not perform up to their marks. The squad had lack of youth and energetic talent and was largely dependent on experience.

After the 2011 season things changed and the squad was revamped. Gautam Gambhir was appointed the captain and many new players like Sunil Narine, Shakib al Hasan and Andre Russell came up to the front with major contributions.

Club trajectory

The Kolkata Knight Riders had a disappointing first three seasons in the IPL. The team was inconsistent in their performance and could not get desired results.

The squad was changed drastically in 2011. The old lot of player were replaced by new players like Sunil Narine, Manvinder Bisla and Manoj Tiwary, some good experienced players like Gautam Gambhir, Brett Lee and Jacques Kallis were also added to bring good balance.

In 2011, KKR managed to qualify for playoffs for the first time. They won two titles after that season and were probably the most formidable team in IPL.

KKR’s net income as of September 30, 2018 was $1.657 billion which is considerably more than 2017. The club has a fast growing sizable brand value.


Kolkata has a great naac for sports and has one of the most enthusiastic crowds when it comes to cricket. Eden Gardens has always witnessed close to full house on important matches.

The fanbase worldwide is also great because of the ownership of Shah Rukh Khan and the owners in franchises of other T20 leagues as well. Trinbago Knight Riders (Caribbean Premier League) and Cape Town Knight Riders (upcoming Global T20 league) are its umbrella franchises.

The fans of KKR are extremely loyal and have been supportive towards their club even in the low times. The team’s twitter page has 4.11 million followers which says a lot about the popularity and likability of Kolkata Knight Riders.

2019 Auction

The Kolkata Knight Riders have retained their strongest Indian players like Dinesh Karthik, Robin Uthappa, Kuldeep Yadav, Piyush Chawla Prasidh Krishna, Shivam Mavi, Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Shubhman Gill. The team has also retained overseas players like Sunil Narine, Andre Russell and Chris Lynn.

The Kolkata based franchise bought new talented players like Carlos Brathwaite for Rs 5 crore, Lockie Ferguson for Rs 1.60 crore, Anrich Nortje for Rs 20 lakh, Nikhil Naik for Rs 20 lakh

Harry Gurney for Rs 75 lakh, Yarra Prithviraj for Rs 20 lakh, Joe Denly for Rs 1 crore and Shrikant Mundhe for Rs 20 lakh.

Team Performance

YearRankCaptainTop BatsmanTop BowlerWin %
20086thSourav GangulySourav Ganguly (349 runs)Umar Gul (12 wickets)46.16
20098thBrendon MccullumBrad Hodge (365 runs)Ishant Sharma (11 wickets)23.07
20106thSourav GangulySourav Ganguly (493 runs)Ashok Dinda (9 wickets)50
20114thGautam GambhirJacques Kallis (424 runs)Yusuf Pathan (13 wickets)53.33
2012WinnersGautam GambhirGautam Gambhir (590 runs)Sunil Narine (24 wickets)70.58
20136thGautam GambhirGautam Gambhir (406 runs)Sunil Narine (22 wickets)37.5
2014WinnersGautam GambhirRobin Uthappa (660 runs)Sunil Narine (21 wickets)68.75
20155thGautam GambhirRobin Uthappa (364 runs)Andre Russell (14 wickets)53.84
20164thGautam GambhirGautam Gambhir (501 runs)Andre Russell (15 wickets)53.33
20173rdGautam GambhirGautam Gambhir (498 runs)Chris Woakes (17 wickets)57.14
20183rdDinesh KarthikDinesh Karthik(498 runs)Kuldeep Yadav(17 wickets)56.3

Fetching more content...