Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Ajinkya Rahane


ODIs 90 87 2962 3767 3 35.26 78.63 3 24 111 293 33 48 0
TESTs 65 109 4203 8400 11 42.89 50.04 11 22 188 475 29 81 0
T20s 20 20 375 331 2 20.83 113.29 0 1 61 32 6 16 0

ODIs 90 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
TESTs 65 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
T20s 20 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Ajinkya Rahane Biography

Ajinkya Rahane, the Indian Cricketer was born on June 6th,1988. He is a right-handed batsman was born in Ashwi KD, Ahmednagar district, Maharashtra. He plays for Mumbai and India and is the vice-captain of the Indian Test team.

In 2016, BCCI recommended Arjuna Award for him.


Rahane started playing Cricket at the age of 7 when his father took him to a coaching camp in Dombivli. At 17, he was coached by Pravin Amre. He played a U19 match representing India against New Zealand before getting selected to play in the Mohammad Nissar Trophy in Karachi.

He made his first-class debut for Mumbai at 19 while playing against Karachi Urban in September 2007. He scored 143 on his debut match which made him get selected for the Irani Trophy match against Rest of India.

He made his Ranji Trophy debut for Mumbai in 2007-08 season. He performed impressively well and got selected to play in Duleep Trophy representing West Zone.

In the second season, he piled up over a 1000 runs which helped Mumbai win its 38th Ranji Title. He notched up his highest first-class score of 265 not out against Hyderabad in the next season. After scoring 1000 runs in the 2010-11 season, he succeeded in scoring 1000 runs in 3 consecutive seasons.

His score of 152 in Irani Trophy against Rajasthan secured him a place in the Indian Test Team. Meanwhile his impressive performance in Emerging Players tournament in 2011 secured him a place in the ODI team.


He made his ODI debut against England in Chester-le-Street where he scored 40 runs at a strike rate of 90. He performed well in that series and subsequent return series in which he scored his debut 50. He failed to perform well in the following series against West Indies, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.

He made his T20 debut against England at Old Trafford, Manchester where he scored 61 runs from 49 balls.

Due to his irregular performances in ODI’s he could not make his Test debut until March 2013. He played his first match against Australia in the Border Gavaskar Trophy at Delhi.

He got out on single digit scores in both the innings.

Rise to Glory

He got selected to the tour of South Africa despite a poor debut. He made an impressive 209 runs at an average of 69. He played a valiant knock of 96 in the second Test, in a losing cause.

He followed up with a brilliant century against New Zealand when the team was reeling at 156/5. The next tour to England saw him score a century at Lord’s which made him the 4th Indian player to score a century at the ground.

His technique and temperament helped him perform very well in the series against Australia where he notched 399 runs with a century and 3 half centuries. In the Freedom Test series against South Africa, he scored centuries in both the innings of the 4th Test, which made him the 5th Indian player to achieve such a feat. Those were the only three-figure individual scores in that series.

Low Points

Even though he played lot of matches he could not shine in ODIs and T20Is with just 3 ODI centuries to his name.

With more competition in the top order and a string of failures, he was sent down to the middle order, to bat at no. 4.

He also failed to impress for India in the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup (barring one innings against South Africa) and 2016 World T20.

Club Careers

He has played for Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals and Rising Pune Supergiant in the IPL. With very limited opportunities in Mumbai he moved to Rajasthan in 2012 and scored a match-winning 98 in the season’s first match.

He has scored more than 2000 runs in IPL which includes a century.


In 2015, he was appointed as the captain for ODI and T20’s for the tour of Zimbabwe.

In March 2017, he captained the Indian Test team in the 4th Test against Australia as Virat Kohli was injured. India won that match by eight wickets to regain the Border-Gavaskar trophy.

Fetching more content...