New User posted their first comment

Delhi Capitals (IPL)


Alex Carey Wicket Keeper - 29
Sandeep Lamichhane Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 20
Mohit Sharma Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 32
Ishant Sharma Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 32
Lalit Yadav All-rounder Right Handed 23
Avesh Khan Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 24
Prithvi Shaw Batsman Right Handed 21
Tushar Deshpande Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 25
Kagiso Rabada Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 25
Marcus Stoinis All-rounder Right Handed 31
Rishabh Pant Wicket Keeper - 23
Shreyas Iyer Batsman Right Handed 26
Shimron Hetmyer Batsman - 24
Ajinkya Rahane Batsman Right Handed 32
Shikhar Dhawan Batsman - 35
Axar Patel All-rounder - 26
Amit Mishra Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 38
Keemo Paul All-rounder Right Handed 22
Harshal Patel Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 30
Ravichandran Ashwin Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 34
Jason Roy Batsman Right Handed 30

The Delhi Capitals or DC is a cricket team franchise that represents the city of Delhi in the Indian Premier League (IPL) since the inaugural edition (2008) where they finished in the playoffs at the 4th position. The Delhi Capitals have changed their name this year only where earlier they were known by the name 'Delhi Daredevils’ from 2008 to 2018.

The team is jointly owned by Parth Jindal (JSW Group) and Kiran Kumar Gandhi (GMR Group). The official jersey of Delhi has always been of red colour with blue stripes on front. The main home ground of Delhi Capitals is the Feroz Shah Kotla which is located in New Delhi only. Delhi has another home ground as well that is the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium in Raipur.


The team of Delhi Capitals (earlier Delhi Daredevils) began their time at IPL where they finished at the fourth position at the end of the tournament. But after that they could repeat this just twice after that where they reached the playoffs. Apart from that, they have emerged as one of the the worst IPL teams as they have been mostly on the second last or last positions at the Points Table.

Fan Base

Even after the franchise of Delhi has failed to perform consistent well at the Indian Premier League, but this thing has not been shown in their fans’ love. Whenever there is a match at their home ground, the stadium is entirely occupied with hardly any seats left. They also receive a large amount of support from their fans over the social media accounts in the form of likes and followers.

IPL 2018

Delhi had a quite forgettable season just like most of their seasons as they managed to win just five matches out of their 14 league games and finished on the last spot at the Points Table.

They received some good individual performance like from Rishabh Pant who scored 684 runs and finished as the second highest run getter of the tournament. Trent Boult also did well with the ball as he claimed 18 scalps in 14 matches.

Apart from their performance on the field, they were asked a few questions on their management as well as Gautam Gambhir who was their captain at the start of the tournament, was dropped after a few matches and Shreyas Iyer was named as his replacement. Gambhir didn't appear in any of the match after that.

IPL 2019 Auctions

Delhi Capitals retained 14 players from their squad of 2018 and traded one player that is Shikhar Dhawan in place of Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma and Shahbaz Nadeem with Sunrisers Hyderabad. Later they also traded Jayant Yadav to Mumbai Indians.

The players that they retained were Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, Manjot Kalra, Colin Munro, Trent Boult, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada and Sandeep Lamichhane. While the players that they added in this year's auctions are Colin Ingram, Axar Patel, Hanuma Vihari, Sherfane Rutherford, Ishant Sharma, Keemo Paul, Jalaj Saxena, Ankush Bains, Nathu Singh and Bandaru Ayyappa.

Administration and Support Staff

Owners: JSW Group, GMR Group

Head Coach: Ricky Ponting

Assistant Coach: Mohammad Kaif

Talent Scout: Pravin Amre

Fast Bowling Coach: James Hopes

Team Performance

YearCaptainResultTop BatsmanTop BowlerWin %
2008Virender SehwagPlayoffs (4th)Gautam Gambhir (534 runs)Yo Mahesh (16 wickets)50
2009Gautam GambhirPlayoffs (3rd)AB de Villiers (465 runs)Ashish Nehra (19 wickets)71.42
2010Dinesh KarthikLeague Stage (5th)Virender Sehwag (356 runs)Amit Mishra (17 wickets)50
2011James HopesLeague Stage (10th)Virender Sehwag (424 runs)Morne Morkel (13 wickets)28.57
2012Mahela JayawardenePlayoffs (3rd)Virender Sehwag (495 runs)Morne Morkel (25 wickets)68.75
2013Ross TaylorLeague Stage (9th)David Warner (410 runs)Umesh Yadav (16 wickets)18.75
2014David WarnerLeague Stage (8th)JP Duminy (410 runs)Imran Tahir (9 wickets)14.28
2015Kevin PietersenLeague Stage (7th)JP Duminy (414 runs)Imran Tahir (15 wickets)35.71
2016JP DuminyLeague Stage (6th)Quinton de Kock (454 runs)Chris Morris (13 wickets)50
2017Zaheer KhanLeague Stage (6th)Sanju Samson (386 runs)Pat Cummins (15 wickets)42.85
2018Shreyas IyerLeague Stage (8th)Rishabh Pant (684 runs)Trent Boult (18 wickets)35.71

Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit