IPL Purple Cap 2020

IPL is to start on 29th March 2020, after which you can check the realtime updated puple cap stats here.

The IPL Purple Cap is given to the bowler who takes the most number of wickets in an Indian Premier League season. The award has been a part of the tournament since its inception. Pakistan's Sohail Tanvir was the first bowler to be awarded the Purple Cap. He took 22 wickets in 11 matches.

Dwayne Bravo’s 32 wickets in the 2015 season is the most by a bowler in a single IPL season. Bravo could very well repeat that sort of performance and find himself in the IPL 2020 Purple Cap list. Imran Tahir is the latest winner of the award, taking 26 wickets from 17 matches in the 2019 season of IPL. He will also be a contender for taking the top spot in the IPL Purple Cap list 2020 along with the likes of Jasprit Bumrah and Trent Boult.

Also see - IPL Points Table

Rules for IPL Purple Cap

  1. The award is given to the leading wicket taker of the IPL season.
  2. The bowler with the most wickets in the tournament during the season would wear the Purple Cap while in the field.
  3. In case of a tie, the Purple Cap is given to the bowler with a superior economy rate.

Purple Cap FAQs

1) What is Purple Cap?

A. It is an award given to the bowler with the most wickets to his name in an IPL season.

2) Who is the Purple Cap winner in IPL 2019?

A. Imran Tahir won the Purple Cap in IPL 2019.

Purple Cap 2019

1Imran Tahir1738643126
2Kagiso Rabada1228236825
3Deepak Chahar1738748222
4Shreyas Gopal1428834720
5Jasprit Bumrah1637040919
6K Khaleel Ahmed920928719
7Mohammed Shami1432446919
8Yuzvendra Chahal1429638618
9Rashid Khan1536037717
10Harbhajan Singh1126431216

* Updated till the last completed match
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit