⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Royal Challengers Bangalore


Moeen Ali All-rounder - 32
Shivam Dubey All-rounder - 26
Washington Sundar All-rounder - 20
AB de Villiers Batsman Right Handed 35
Parthiv Patel Wicket Keeper - 34
Devdutt Padikkal Batsman - 19
Yuzvendra Chahal Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 29
Navdeep Saini Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 27
Gurkeerat Mann Singh Batsman Right Handed 29
Virat Kohli Middle Order Batsman Right Handed 31
Mohammed Siraj Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 25
Umesh Yadav Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 32
Pawan Negi All-rounder - 26

The Royal Challengers Bangalore or RCB is a cricket team franchise based on the region of Bangalore, Karnataka, participates in the Indian Premier League (IPL) since the inaugural edition in 2008 where they were placed at the second last position in the Points Table. Their most successful performances came in 2009, 2011 and 2016 where they finished as the finalists on the all three occasions.

The team is currently captained by Virat Kohli while the South African batsman Gary Kirsten is the current Head Coach of RCB. The recent owners of the Royal Challengers Bangalore are United Spirits Limited which is Indian alcoholic beverages company. The official jersey of Royal Challengers Bangalore is of red color with black stripes while their away jersey is of black color with red stripes.

Fan Base

RCB has a massive and an enthusiastic fan base all over India especially in their home city of Bangalore. Their fans come up in big numbers in their matches and are quite vocal at that time. A sea of red can be seen in the stands at the time of their matches and the chants of "R-C-B, R-C-B" are all over the stadium.

IPL 2018

Royal Challengers Bangalore didn't have a good 2018 season as they failed to make their way to the playoffs as they could win only six matches out of the 14 league games. They finished just above the Mumbai Indians and Delhi Daredevils.

Their skipper Virat Kohli led their team from the front with the bat as well as he ended the tournament as the leading run scorer for them. He scored 530 runs in 14 games at a decent average of over 42.

Apart from Virat Kohli, there was another player who shone for RCB and that was Umesh Yadav who picked up 20 wickets in 14 games to emerge as one of the top five wicket takers of the 2018 edition of IPL.

IPL 2019 Auctions

RCB decided to retain 15 players out of their players from their 2018 edition and their names are Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Parthiv Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Pawan Negi, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Moeen Ali, Mohammed Siraj, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kulwant Khejroliya and Marcus Stoinis. Virat Kohli will continue to captain their side this year as well.

Before coming to this year's auctions, they transferred three players: Quinton de Kock (To Mumbai Indians), Mandeep Singh (To Kings XI Punjab), and they bought Marcus Stoinis from Kings XI Punjab. And they bought nine players in the auctions that are Shivam Dube, Shimron Hetmyer, Akshdeep Nath, Prayas Barman, Himmat Singh, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Heinrich Klaasen, Devdutt Padikkal and Milind Kumar.

Administration and Support Staff

Owner: United Spirits Limited

Team Director: Sanjeev Churiwala

Team And Cricket Operations Manager: Avinash Vaidya

Head Coach: Gary Kirsten

Batting Coach: NA

Bowling Coach: Ashish Nehra

Fielding Coach: NA

Bowling Talent Development and Analytics: NA

Strength and Conditioning Coach: Basu Shanker

Physiotherapist: Evan Speechly

Team Performance

YearCaptainResultTop BatsmanTop BowlerWin %
2008Rahul DravidLeague Stage (7th)Rahul Dravid (371runs)Zaheer Khan (13 wickets)28.57
2009Kevin PietersenRunners-upJacques Kallis (361 runs)Anil Kumble (19 wickets)57.14
2010Anil KumblePlayoffs (4th)Jacques Kallis (572 runs)Anil Kumble (17 wickets)50.00
2011Daniel VettoriRunners-upChris Gayle (608 runs)S Aravind (21 wickets)64.28
2012Virat KohliLeague Stage (5th)Chris Gayle (733 runs)R Vinay Kumar (19 wickets)50.00
2013Virat KohliLeague Stage (5th)Chris Gayle (708 runs)R Vinay Kumar (23 wickets)56.25
2014Virat KohliLeague Stage (7th)AB De Villiers (395 runs)Varun Aaron (16 wickets)35.70
2015Virat KohliPlayoffs (3rd)AB De Villiers (513 runs)Yuzvendra Chahal (23 wickets)50.00
2016Virat KohliRunners-upVirat Kohli (973 runs)Yuzvendra Chahal (20 wickets)57.14
2017Virat KohliLeague Stage (8th)Virat Kohli (308 runs)Pawan Negi (16 wickets)21.42
2018Virat KohliLeague Stage (6th)Virat Kohli (530 runs)Umesh Yadav (20 wickets)42.85

Fetching more content...