Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

IPL Orange Cap 2020

IPL is to start on 29th March 2020, after which you can check the realtime updated orange cap stats here.

The IPL Orange Cap is an award which is given annually to the leading run-scorer in the IPL season. The award was started in the first season of the tournament in 2008. Orange Cap works as a reward for the outstanding display by a batsman.

Shaun Marsh was the first player to win the award. He scored 616 runs in 11 matches which was the most runs scored in the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League. The record of most runs in the IPL season belongs to Virat Kohli who scored 973 in 2016 and got his name in the Orange Cap winners list. He will be one of the contenders to score most runs in IPL 2020 along with the likes of David Warner and Kane Williamson.

Rules for IPL Orange Cap

  1. The award is given to the leading run-scorer of the IPL season.
  2. The batsman with the most runs in the tournament during the season would wear the Orange Cap while in the field.
  3. In case of a tie, the batsman with a better strike rate is awarded the Orange Cap.
  4. The Orange Cap owner who is fielding is allowed to wear the Orange Cap till the end of the innings even if an opposition batsman has overtaken his runs.

Also see - IPL Purple Cap

Orange Cap FAQs

1) What is Orange Cap?

A. It is the award given to the batsman with the most runs in the IPL season.

2) Who is the Orange Cap winner in IPL 2019?

A. David Warner won the Orange Cap in IPL 2019. He scored 692 runs in 12 matches in IPL 2019.

Orange Cap 2019

1David Warner1269269.2143.875721
2Lokesh Rahul1459353.91135.394925
3Quinton de Kock1652935.27132.914525
4Shikhar Dhawan1652134.73135.686411
5Andre Russell1351056.67204.823152
6Chris Gayle1349040.83153.614534
7Rishabh Pant1648837.54162.673727
8Virat Kohli1446433.14141.464613
9Shreyas Iyer1646330.87119.954114
10Jonny Bairstow1044555.62157.244818

No data available!