New User posted their first comment

Kings XI Punjab


Piyush Chawla All-rounder - 32
Deepak Hooda Batsman Right Handed 25
KL Rahul Batsman Right Handed 28
Mujeeb ur Rahman Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 19
Darshan Nalkande Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 22
Sheldon Cottrell Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 31
Murugan Ashwin Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 30
Mandeep Singh (cricket) All-rounder Right Handed 29
Jagadeesha Suchith All-rounder - 26
Hardus Viljoen All-rounder Right Handed 31
Nicolas Pooran Wicket Keeper - 25
Chris Gayle Batsman - 41
Ravi Bishnoi Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 20
James Neesham All-rounder - 30
Arshdeep Singh All-rounder Right Handed 21
Tajinder Singh Dhillon All-rounder Right Handed 28
Karun Nair Batsman Right Handed 29
Sarfaraz Khan Batsman Right Handed 23
Mayank Agarwal Batsman Right Handed 29
Mohammed Shami Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 30
Harpreet Brar All-rounder - 25
Krishnappa Gowtham All-rounder Right Handed 32
Prabh Simran Singh Wicket Keeper Right Handed 20
Ishan Porel All-rounder Right Handed 22
Glenn Maxwell All-rounder Right Handed 32
Chris Jordan All-rounder Right Handed 32

Kings XI Punjab(KXIP) is a cricket franchise based in Mohali, Punjab that competes in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The team hosts its home games at he IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali. However, the team has also played some home games at the HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala.

The team of Punjab does not have great history in the IPL. They have struggled to compete at the league stage and have had only two breakthroughs to the playoffs in all the years of IPL.


The Kings XI Punjab club was formed in 2008, and is owned by KPH Dream Cricket Private Limited, a company formed by Bollywood actress Preity Zinta, businessman Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman and Karan Paul.

The franchise has been part of the IPL since its inception in 2008, playing their first game against st Chennai Super Kings in the League.

Prominent Achievements

The Punjab franchise had a good start to the IPL in 2008. They qualified to the playoffs, playing the semi final match against Chennai Super Kings.

The Kings XI Punjab team had their most successful season in 2014. The squad finished the league phase at the top of the table with 11 victories out of 14 matches under the captaincy of George Bailey.

Career trajectory of the club

Kings XI Punjab have been very poor in their IPL journey so far. The team has finished bottom on the league table on three occasion which is most by any franchise.

In the opening season of IPL, KXIP played well and were participants in the semis. However, the team could not qualify for playoffs until 2014.

After being runners-up in the 2014 season, KXIP dropped their form and were completely lost in the following seasons of the league.

KXIP were not able to have a strong position on the field. However, the club’s earning are on the positive side, making money from club sponsorship and stadium gate receipts.


Kings XI Punjab has a very loyal and dedicated fan base. Inspite of having an under-achieved run in the league seasons the fans have stuck to the team and have supported them throughout.

The team has 1.91 million followers on their twitter account and have very good number of fan following on other major social media platforms like Facebook and Instagram.

Fans love their team’s playing style, which is fearless and bold. Even though the team has not brought any silverware home, their attitude on field is dedicated and relentless.

In 2010, a fan club of the Kings XI Punjab named Lion’s Den was formed.

2019 Auction

King XI Punjab retained many important players who contributed in the 2018 season like KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Andrew Tye, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Rajpoot, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Karun Nair, David Miller and Ravichandran Ashwin.

The team spend on 13 crores on Varun Chakaravarthy, Sam Curran, Mohammed Shami, Prabhsimran Singh, Nicholas Pooran, Moises Henriques, Hardus Viljoen, Darshan Nalkande, Sarfaraz Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Agnivesh Ayachi, Harpreet Brar and Murugan Ashwin.

Team Performance

YearRankCaptainTop BatsmanTop BowlerWin %
20083Yuvraj SinghShaun Marsh (616 runs)S. Sreesanth (19 wickets)66.67
20095Yuvraj SinghYuvraj Singh (340 runs)Irfan Pathan (17 wickets)50
20108Kumar SangakkaraMahela Jayawardene (439 runs)Irfan Pathan (15 wickets)28.57
20115Adam GilchristShaun Marsh (504 runs)Ryan Harris (16 wickets)50
20126Adam GilchristMandeep Singh (432 runs)Parvinder Awana (17 wickets)50
20136Adam GilchristDavid Miller (418 runs)Azhar Mahmood (15 wickets)50
20142George BaileyGlenn Maxwell (552 runs)Sandeep Sharma (18 wickets)70.59
20158George BaileyDavid Miller (357 runs)Anureet Singh (15 wickets)27.27
20168David MillerMurali Vijay (453 runs)Sandeep Sharma (15 wickets)28.57
20175Glenn MaxwellHashim Amla (420 runs)Sandeep Sharma (17 wickets)50
20187Ravichandran AshwinKL Rahul(659 runs)Andrew Tye(24 wickets)42.85

Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit