⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Mumbai Indians


Lasith Malinga Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 37
Saurabh Tiwary Batsman - 31
Nathan Coulter-Nile Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 33
Mitchell McClenaghan Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 34
Mohsin Khan Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 22
Suryakumar Yadav Batsman Right Handed 30
Hardik Pandya All-rounder Right Handed 27
Prince Balwant Rai All-rounder Right Handed -
Digvijay Deshmukh Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 22
Chris Lynn Batsman Right Handed 30
Jasprit Bumrah Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 27
Anukul Roy All-rounder - 22
Kieron Pollard All-rounder Right Handed 33
Rohit Sharma Batsman Right Handed 33
Aditya Tare Wicket Keeper Right Handed 33
Anmolpreet Singh Batsman Right Handed 22
Krunal Pandya All-rounder - 29
Rahul Chahar All-rounder Right Handed 21
Trent Boult Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 31
Quinton de Kock Wicket Keeper - 28
Jayant Yadav All-rounder Right Handed 30
Sherfane Rutherford All-rounder - 22
Dhawal Kulkarni Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 32
Ishan Kishan Wicket Keeper - 22

Mumbai Indians are a franchise cricket team based in the city of Mumbai, Maharashtra and play in the Indian Premier League, the premier domestic Twenty20 competition of India. They play their home games at the Wankhede Stadium, while also having the Brabourne Stadium as their secondary home ground. One of the most prestigious teams in the IPL, they set a level of benchmark over the years.

They are the most successful team in the history of the IPL (alongwith Chennai Super Kings) with three titles to their name. They are also have the highest brand value in the IPL of $106 million, making them the most valuable franchise second year in a row. They are the first IPL team to make it to the brand value of $100 million. Moreover, legendary players like Sanath Jayasuriya, Ricky Ponting, Shaun Pollock and Sachin Tendulkar have all been an integral part of the MI family, making the legacy of the franchise very immense.

They are currently coached by Mahela Jayawardene, while Robin Singh and Shane Bond are present as the batting and bowling coaches respectively. Sachin Tendulkar also takes up the role of batting mentor in the Mumbai franchise.

The Mumbai Indians don the blue jersey with golden stripes. Their logo is the Sudarshan Chakra (or razor) with the team’s name rendered below it. Their theme song is titled “Ala Re”, while they also have a really popular fan-made song called “Akkha Mumbai Khelega”.


One of the eight original members during the birth of the Indian Premier League, the team was formed in January 2008. The Mumbai based franchise is owned by India’s biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries. The franchise was bought for a price of $111.9 million, making it the most expensive franchise to be sold in the league. They have the rights to the team for a period of ten years.


As mentioned earlier, they have won the IPL title thrice (2013, 2015, 2017) making them the most successful franchise along with Chennai Super Kings. Apart from that, they have also won the now-defunct Champions League Twenty20 twice (2011, 2013).

They are the second only side in the IPL to have won the double (in 2013), which comprises of both the IPL title and the Champions League T20 title.

Trajectory of the club

Despite possessing an extremely talented squad, the Mumbai Indians struggled during the initial years of the IPL. They finished fifth and seventh in the first two seasons respectively, failing even to make the playoffs.

The following season, however, they looked like a completely rejuvenated side and made it to the finals, where they ended up losing to the Chennai Super Kings. Surprisingly enough, Mumbai Indians won the Champions League T20 title ahead of their first IPL title. In 2011 and 2012, they managed to make it to the playoffs in the IPL but crashed out.

However, they won their first Champions League T20 title in 2011. They won their double in 2013, again crashed out in playoffs in 2014 and again won the title in 2015. The same inconsistent pattern followed as they won the title again in 2017, but failed even to make the playoffs in 2016 and 2018.

IPL 2018

Playing as the defending champions, the Mumbai Indians had a poor start to the season. They just lost to CSK on the opening day, but struggled to find rhythm in the entire season. They lost crucial points cheaply which also affected the team’s morale. Towards the end of the season, they showed an upturn in form. However, that was not enough for them to qualify for the playoffs as they finished 5th.

IPL 2019 Auctions

Mumbai Indians had quite the busy IPL 2019 auction as they made several additions to their squad. They made a total of six signings: Barinder Singh Sran (₹ 3.4 Cr), Lasith Malinga (₹2 Cr), Yuvraj Singh (₹1 Cr), Anmolpreet Singh (₹80 L), Pankaj Jaiswal (₹20 L), Rasikh Dar (₹20 L).

Team Performance

YearPosCaptainTop BatsmanTop BowlerWin%
20085Sachin Tendulkar/Shaun PollockSanath Jayasuriya - 514 runsAshish Nehra - 12 wickets50.00
20097Sachin TendulkarJP Duminy - 372 runsLasith Malinga - 18 wickets 35.71
20102Sachin TendulkarSachin Tendulkar - 618 runsHarbhajan Singh - 17 wickets68.75
20113Sachin TendulkarSachin Tendulkar - 553 runsLasith Malinga - 28 wickets 62.50
20124Harbhajan SinghRohit Sharma - 433 runsLasith Malinga - 22 wickets 58.82
20131Ricky Ponting/Rohit SharmaRohit Sharma - 538 runs Harbhajan Singh - 24 wickets68.42
20144Rohit SharmaLendl Simmons - 394 runsLasith Malinga - 16 wickets46.67
20151Rohit SharmaLendl Simmons - 540 runsLasith Malinga - 24 wickets62.50
20165Rohit SharmaRohit Sharma - 489 runsMitchell McClenaghan - 17 wickets50.00
20171Rohit SharmaParthiv Patel - 395 runsJasprit Bumrah - 20 wickets71.42
20185Rohit SharmaSuryakumar Yadav - 512 runsHardik Pandya - 18 wickets42.85

Fetching more content...