New User posted their first comment

Sunrisers Hyderabad


Nick NameSRH


GroundRajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad

Team Owner(s)Kalanithi Maran

Prominent PlayersVVS Laxman


Mitchell Marsh All-rounder Right Handed 29
Manish Pandey Batsman Right Handed 31
Bavanaka Sandeep All-rounder - 28
Abhishek Sharma Bowler Left Arm Orthodox 20
Shahbaz Nadeem Bowler Left Arm Orthodox 31
Abdul Samad All-rounder Right Handed 19
Sandeep Sharma Bowler Right Arm Medium Seam 27
Siddarth Kaul Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 30
Vijay Shankar Middle Order Batsman Right Handed 29
Priyam Garg All-rounder Right Handed 20
Basil Thampi All-rounder Right Handed 27
Virat Singh All-rounder - 23
Kane Williamson Batsman Right Handed 30
Wriddhiman Saha Wicket Keeper Right Handed 36
Jonny Bairstow Batsman Right Handed 31
Shreevats Goswami Wicket Keeper - 31
Bhuvneshwar Kumar Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 30
Mohammad Nabi All-rounder Right Handed 35
Khaleel Ahmed Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 23
Billy Stanlake Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 26
T Natarajan Bowler Left Arm Fast Seam 29
Sanjay Yadav Batsman - 25
Rashid Khan Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 22
Fabian Allen All-rounder Right Handed 25
David Warner Opening Batsman - 34


Sunrisers Hyderabad is a franchise club which is a part of the Indian Premier League, an annual tournament organized by the BCCI. Sunrisers Hyderabad was taken into the league as a replacement to the Hyderabad Deccan Chargers in 2012 due to prolonged financial issues. However, the Sunrisers played their first tournament only in 2013.

The head coach of Sunrisers Hyderabad is Tom Moody whereas players like VVS Laxman are among the mentors of the team. The team was earlier led by the Australian cricketer David Warner, but his involvement in the sandpaper controversy forced him to step down and Kane Williamson now leads the team.


The Sunrisers Hyderabad don't have a long list of victories of the finals but they were at their best in 2016, when the captain David Warner led from the front to clinch the IPL Trophy. However, since then, the team has never been outbid playoffs and in 2018, the Sunrisers Hyderabad were the runners up in the tournament.

Club Trajectory

The Sunrisers Hyderabad didn't have a great start to the journey in the tournament and were eliminated in the Playoffs under the captaincy of Kumar Sangakkara and Cameroon White. However, the next season of 2014 was terrible for them as they finished sixth and failed to make it to the playoffs under the leadership of Shikhar Dhawan and Darren Sammy.

In 2015, David Warner was made the captain but he failed to deliver as well and Sunrisers finished sixth again. However, in 2016 David made sure that they lift the trophy and it has been their best performance so far.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad finished 4th in the 2017 season of the IPL and showed some great cricketing action. However, in 2018 they were close to a victory when they had to give in to the Chennai Super Kings in the finals.

Fan Base

The fans of the Sunrisers Hyderabad are highly loyal like the others and have stood by the team in times of its decent as well. The fans had jam packed the home stadium when the Sunrisers won the IPL in 2016 and also turn out in huge numbers during the matches of the team.

Popularly known as the “Orange Army”, the team has over a million followers on Facebook and Twitter combined. The fans generally show up in the Orange jerseys of the team instead of the black ones for obvious reasons.

IPL 2019 Auction

The following players have been picked up by Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2019 auction:

Jonny Bairstow – ₹2.2 crore

Wriddhiman Saha - ₹1.2 crore

Martin Guptill - ₹1 crore

Team Performance

YearRankCaptainTop Batsman(Runs)Top Bowler(Wickets)Win %
20134Kumar SangakkaraShikhar Dhawan(311)Amit Mishra (21)58.82

20146Shikhar DhawanDavid Warner(528)Bhuvneshwar Kumar (20)42.86
20156David WarnerDavid Warner(562)Bhuvneshwar Kumar (18)50
20161David WarnerDavid Warner(848)Bhuvneshwar Kumar (23)64.70
20173David WarnerDavid Warner(641)Bhuvneshwar Kumar (26)53.30
20182Kane WilliamsonKane Williamson (735)Rashid Khan(21)64.28

Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit