New User posted their first comment

Manoj Tiwary answers Gambhir with a fighting knock as Karnataka show courage in Ranji Trophy: Day 4 Roundup

Ram Kumar
Modified 25 Oct 2015, 20:34 IST
Manoj Tiwary
Manoj Tiwary showed resilience to deny Delhi a win

After the disgraceful scenes at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi wherein Gautam Gambhir and Manoj Tiwary almost traded blows, the latter responded with a stellar innings to frustrate the Delhi bowlers. In reply, the home batsmen negotiated the remainder of the day even as Gambhir did not come out to bat.

Bengal¬†357 & 217/5 (Tiwary¬†97, Gani 62, Narwal 2-37) Declared; Delhi 249 & 161/4 (Pant 57, Gani 3-47) ‚ÄstMatch Drawn

In Nagpur, Vidarbha completed a tense victory over Assam to garner 6 points. On the back of a convincing opening partnership between Faiz Fazal and former Indian opener Wasim Jaffer, Vidarbha appeared to be cruising towards the target. Despite a late flurry of wickets, Assam could not stop the home team from chasing the target.

Vidarbha¬†154 & 215/7 (Jaffer¬†71, Fazal 63, Verma 3-55);¬†Assam¬†206 & 160 ‚Äď Vidarbha won by 3 wickets

Ankit Rajpoot’s 5-wicket haul demolished Andhra Pradesh to help Uttar Pradesh successfully defend 183 in Ongole. The medium pacer bowled with impressive control as he ran through an Andhra outfit led by former Indian batsman Mohammad Kaif. He was ably supported by the likes of Praveen Kumar and Kuldeep Yadav.

Andhra Pradesh¬†297 &¬†126 (Target 183) Rajpoot¬†5-35;¬†Uttar Pradesh¬†170 &¬†309 ‚Äď Uttar Pradesh Won by 56 Runs¬†

Resuming at 345/9, the last-wicket pair added vital runs for Baroda to douse Mumbai’s hopes of forcing a result. Suryakumar Yadav’s 2nd innings century in Vadodara meant that the contest ended in a draw.

Baroda¬†397¬†(Devdhar 95, Vahora 57, Kulkarni 5-82);¬†Mumbai¬†447 & 202/5 (Suryakumar Yadav 100*, Swapnil 3-70) ‚ÄstMatch Drawn

Defending champions Karnataka managed to escape with a draw against Haryana in Mysuru. Chasing an unlikely 373 to win, the Karnataka batsmen decided to hold fort and scrape a draw. Haryana, led by the recently retired Virender Sehwag came within 2 wickets to securing a major triumph. 


Karnataka¬†221 & 202/8 (Target 373) Jayant 6-65;¬†Haryana¬†331 & 262-9 Declared ‚ÄstMatch Drawn

In the picturesque city of Dharamsala, the encounter between Himachal Pradesh and Goa ended in a tame draw after the Goan batsmen had made merry on a placid surface.

Goa¬†324 & 367/6 Declared (Kauthankar 101, Asnodkar 72, Rishi 2-58);¬†Himachal Pradesh¬†376 & 125/2 (Target 316) ‚ÄstMatch Drawn

Ashok Menaria’s patient 150* enabled Rajasthan to reach a position of safety at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur and prevented Maharashtra from seizing the advantage.

Rajasthan¬†318 & 334/5 Declared¬†(Menaria¬†150*, Mundhe 2-51);¬†Maharashtra¬†409 & 17/0 ‚ÄstMatch Drawn

Madhya Pradesh thwarted the Yuvraj Singh-led Punjab as Jalaj Saxena, Rameez Khan and Devendra Bundela scored half-centuries in Patiala.

Madhya Pradesh¬†370 & 314/6 (Saxena¬†95,¬†Bundela 55*, Ladda¬†3-52);¬†Punjab¬†358 ‚ÄstMatch Drawn

After dismissing Services for 319, the Kerala batsmen never attempted to score quickly and put the opposition under pressure as the match finished in a draw.

Kerala¬†322 & 176/3 Declared (Kodoth 72); Services 319 & 43/4 (Baby 3-24) ‚ÄstMatch Drawn

Despite Jammu & Kashmir’s urge to unearth a victory, Arindam Das and Parvinder Singh posted hundreds to save Tripura from defeat.

Jammu & Kashmir¬†428 and 163 for 3 Declared; Tripura¬†224 & 243/2 (Das 106*, Parvinder 100*) ‚ÄstMatch Drawn

Published 25 Oct 2015, 20:31 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
‚̧ԳŹ Favorites Edit