Favorites Edit

New Zealand vs Bangladesh 2019, 1st ODI: Preview and predicted lineups

497   //    13 Feb 2019, 07:05 IST

Bangladesh will be hoping to register their first series win in New Zealand
Bangladesh will be hoping to register their first series win in New Zealand

New Zealand would be looking to get back to winning ways when they host Bangladesh for a three-match ODI series. The opening ODI is set to be played at Napier.

The World Cup 2019 is approaching and all the teams are looking to get their combinations right for the major ICC event. The Blackcaps need to make the most out of this series as it will be their last ODI tilt before the commencement of the showpiece event.

The Bengal Tigers will miss the services of their ace all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan. But the visitors would still be hoping to win their first series in New Zealand, as the Kiwis have not been in the best of form lately.

Ground Stats

Total Matches- 44

Matches won batting first - 17

Matches won bowling first - 24

Average 1st Inns score - 241

Average 2nd Inns score - 201

Highest total recorded - 373/8 (50 Ov) by NZ vs ZIM


Lowest total recorded - 126/10 (36.3 Ov) by PAK vs NZ

Highest score chased - 289/3 (40 Ov) by SL vs NZ

Lowest score defended - 162/3 (20.5 Ov) by NZ vs ZIM

Team News


- Shakib Al Hasan and Taskin Ahmed have been ruled out of series due to injury.

- Sabbir Rahman will come in for Shakib Al Hasan.

- Shafiul Islam will replace Taskin.

New Zealand

- Colin Munro and Ish Sodhi have been dropped from the squad.

- Tom Latham is in the squad.



Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Nayeem Hasan, Shafiul Islam

New Zealand

Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor


Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, James Neesham

Probable Playing 11


Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mashrafe Mortaza (c) Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain.

New Zealand

Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry/Tim Southee, Trent Boult.

Topics you might be interested in:
Work Hard. Play Harder!
Fetching more content...