Favorites Edit

Ranji Trophy 6th Round, Day 4 Round Up: Karnataka thrash Rajasthan by 393 runs

612   //    16 Nov 2016, 18:22 IST

Vizianagaram (Andhra Pradesh), Nov 16 (IANS) After dominating the last three days, Karnataka thrashed Rajasthan by 393 runs on Day Four of the Ranji Trophy Group B cricket match at the PVG Raju ACA Sports Complex here on Wednesday.

Resuming the day at 118/6 with a 525-run target, Rajasthan started off on a poor note as they lost overnight batsman Rajesh Bishnoi on the second ball of the day. Pacer Sreenath Aravind sent back Bishnoi for 14.

Soon his teammate Vinay Kumar took the next two wickets to complete his 19th five-wicket haul and wrapped up the issue comfortably.

In other matches across the country, the Railways defeated Baroda by seven wickets, as they reached the 113-run target on the fourth and final day at the Vidarbha Cricket Association ground in Nagpur.

The Railways resumed the day at 90/2 and added the required 23 runs, with the loss of a wicket. Opener Shivakant Shukla was unbeaten on 56.

In Hyderabad, Odisha and Assam played out a dull draw as Assam were 164/4 in 75 overs when umpires called off the fourth day's play at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

In Mysore, Aditya Dhumal took five wickets as Mumbai beat Uttar Pradesh by 121 runs to remain on top of Group A at the Srikantadatta Narasimha Raja Wadeyar ground.

Resuming the day at 43/1, overnight batsmen Shivam Chaudhary (50) and Samarth Singh (42) forged a crucial 42-run partnership for the second-wicket before Dhumal sent back both batsman to reduce Uttar Pradesh to 105 for 3.

Dhumal and Vishal Dabholkar (4-43) then struck at the regular intervals as they shared the last nine wickets between them to bowl Uttar Pradesh out for 173.

In Valsad, Hanuma Vihari slammed his fourth first-class double-century as Andhra Pradesh outplayed Tripura by an innings and 38 runs at the Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel stadium.


Resuming the day from 144, Vihari went to score an unbeaten 233 as Andhra Pradesh declared on 524/5, having established a first-innings lead of 353 and then bowled Tripura out for 315 in the second innings.

Paidikalva Vijaykumar and Bhargav Bhatt scalped four wickets each to hand Andhra Pradesh a comfortable victory.



Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...