New User posted their first comment

Sehwag, Yuvraj in Indian 17 member squad for test series against England

Modified 02 Jul 2011, 19:45 IST

Indian selectors announced a 17 member squad for the 4 match test series against England. The series will be played in England and the 1st test is scheduled to start from 21st July at Lords. In the squad, yet to be declared fit, Virender Sehwag found a place. Man of the series in this year’s world cup Yuvraj Singh also made it to the squad.

Sehwag who has not recovered from his shoulder injury yet will have to miss the first test which is also the 200oth test match in world cricket. He will take some time to fully recover before playing in the series. Sachin Tendulkar who was rested for India’s tour of west indies has returned to the team. Key bowler Zaheer Khan has also made a comeback to the Indian squad after his injury break. Gautam Gambhir who declared himself fit few days ago also saw his name in the 17 member squad.

The idea to choose a 17 member squad was adopted to accommodate Virender Sehwag who is crucial to India’s success in England. Skipper MS Dhoni, was reportedly keen in having Sehwag in the side for the series.

Indian Test squad: MS Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir (vice-captain), Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Abhinav Mukund, Wriddhiman Saha, Harbhajan Singh, Amit Mishra, Zaheer Khan, Sreesanth, Munaf Patel, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar

Published 02 Jul 2011, 19:45 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit