Favorites Edit

South Africa vs Sri Lanka 2019: Squads and Teams, Complete List of Players 

19.54K   //    14 Feb 2019, 20:15 IST

South Africa and Sri Lanka lock horns for what promises to be a fascinating series
South Africa and Sri Lanka lock horns for what promises to be a fascinating series

After a grueling summer in the southern hemisphere, Sri Lanka face South Africa following their disastrous campaigns in Australia and New Zealand.

At present, the odds are stacked unfavourably against the Lankans. Out of the 13 matches that Sri Lanka have played on South African soil, 11 have ended in defeats for the visitors.

Sri Lanka's tour of South Africa comprises two Test matches, five One Day Internationals and three Twenty20 Internationals. A warm-up match will also be played ahead of the ODI series, between the visitors and South African Invitation XI.

The tour begins from the 13th of February and will conclude on 24th March with the final T20I. The South African safari is set to be another test of mettle for the Lankans.


The series will be played across five locations in South Africa (plus one more for the warm-up match). The venues are listed below:

  • Kingsmead, Durban

  • St. George’s Park, Port Elizabeth
  • The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg
  • SuperSport Park, Centurion
  • Newlands, Capetown
  • Willowmoore Park, Benoni

Team News and Squads

Sri Lanka

Skipper Dinesh Chandimal has been excluded from the squad touring South Africa, following his dismal show against Australia and New Zealand. The Lankan captain managed just 24 runs from two Test matches in Australia in a 2-0 series whitewash.

Dropped from the national squad, he has been sent back home in order to regain form by playing domestic cricket. He will be replaced as captain by the Sri Lankan opener Dimuth Karunaratne.

The Lankans also have a talented newcomer in Angelo Perera, who recently became the first batsman since 1938 to score two double centuries in a first-class match. The visitors will have their task cut out as they will be facing a strong Proteas bowling attack. While they will fancy their chances against Keshav Maharaj, the four-man pace attack will test the technique of the Lankans.


Sri Lanka Test Squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Niroshan Dickwella (vice-captain) (wicket-keeper), Dhananjaya de Silva, Lasith Embuldeniya, Oshada Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Chamika Karunaratne, Suranga Lakmal, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Perera, Kusal Perera, Kasun Rajitha, Lakshan Sandakan, Mohamed Shiraz, Kaushal Silva, Milinda Siriwardana and Lahiru Thirimanne

South Africa

The South Africans will be willing to exploit the spin of Keshav Maharaj, but they still be banking on their four-pronged pace attack of Dale Steyn, Kagiso Rabada, Vernon Philander, and Duanne Olivier.

20-year-old Wiaan Mulder was initially called up to the Proteas squad to provide a genuine all-rounder in the side. But he was released to join the Highveld Lions in their One Day Cup campaign. Mulder's wait for a maiden Test cap could grow longer. However, he remains in contention for this year’s World Cup in England.

South Africa Test squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper), Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Duanne Olivier, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada and Dale Steyn