Favorites Edit

Sri Lanka Cricket


L Mar 10 2019
South Africa
Sri Lanka
331/5 (50.0 ov)
121/5 (24.0 ov)
L Mar 13 2019
South Africa
Sri Lanka
190/4 (32.5 ov)
189/10 (39.2 ov)
L Mar 16 2019
South Africa
Sri Lanka
135/2 (28.0 ov)
225/10 (49.3 ov)
Mar 19 - T20
South Africa VS Sri Lanka
Mar 22 - T20
South Africa VS Sri Lanka

Kamindu Mendis Batsman - 21
Lasith Malinga Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 36
Isuru Udana All-rounder Right Handed 31
Niroshan Dickwella Wicket Keeper - 26
Thisara Perera All-rounder - 30
Avishka Fernando Batsman Right Handed 21
Angelo Perera All-rounder Right Handed 29
Sadeera Samarawickrama Wicket Keeper Right Handed 24
Dhananjaya de Silva All-rounder Right Handed 28
Jeffrey Vandersay Bowler Right Arm Leg spin 29
Lakshan Sandakan Bowler Left Arm Unorthodox 28
Priyamal Perera Bowler Right Arm Off Spin 24
Suranga Lakmal Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 32
Akila Dananjaya All-rounder - 26
Kusal Mendis Batsman Right Handed 24
Asitha Fernando Bowler Right Arm Fast Seam 22

One of the finest cricketing stories of the last millennium was the unfancied Sri Lanka national cricket team claiming the 1996 Cricket World Cup. Although they played international cricket as Ceylon in the 1920s, it was only in 1982 that they were awarded Test status.

To claim the most coveted prize in cricket, a little more than a decade after gaining Test status, spoke volumes about just how far Sri Lanka cricket had come. Although, they have since won the Champions Trophy and the World T20, their 1996 World Cup triumph will still stand out as their finest moment in international cricket. They are governed by the Sri Lanka cricket board.

Sri Lanka national cricket team held the world record for the highest team total in Tests, ODI and T20Is at one point. However, the ODI world record was broken by England and the T20I world record was broken by Australia in the space of eight days in 2016.

Since their World Cup triumph in 1996, they have shown themselves to be a competitive side that are close to challenging for trophies. Sri Lanka cricket team made back-to-back World Cup finals in 2007 and 2011. However, they ended up empty handed on both occasions.

In 2014, they won the World T20 and in the process, become just the third team after India and West Indies to win the World Cup, Champions Trophy and the World T20. That triumph capped off a strong run in the tournament that saw them reach the final of the World T20 in 2009 and 2012, which they lost to Pakistan and West Indies respectively.

After their two decade long period of success in the shorter formats, they slowly started to fade away with the retirement of their star players. The likes of Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene retiring left a huge hole that Sri Lanka cricket team has been unable to fill yet.

The role of Sri Lanka cricket captain has also changed hands with alarming regularity since their retirement and the side has seen nearly more than five captains in a single calendar year. While the current Sri Lanka national cricket team roster has some big shoes to fill, they haven't been helped by injuries and constant changes in captaincy.

Angelo Mathews is the current Sri Lanka cricket team captain, having taken over from Dinesh Chandimal. However, such has been his recent luck with injuries that Mathews hasn't been able to contribute as much in 2017 and 2018.

Despite their recent track record, Sri Lanka cricket players hold plenty of world records. Muttiah Muralitharan holds the world record for most wickets in both ODIs and Tests. Unsurprisingly, it is Muralitharan, who holds a monopoly on Sri Lankan Test bowling records. Aside from the record for most wickets, he holds the record for most wickets on a single ground, most five-wicket hauls, most ten-wicket hauls and most balls bowled. All of them are also world records.

Much like Muralitharan, Kumar Sangakkara dominates the batting record books in Tests. He holds the record for most Test runs, highest individual score, most centuries and half-centuries.

In ODIs, Muralitharan and Sangakarra hold the national record for most wickets and runs. While Mahela Jayawardene is the most-capped Sri Lankan ODI player, Sanath Jayasuriya holds the record for highest score and most centuries while Sangakkara holds the record for most fifties.

In T20Is, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Lasith Malinga are the leading run-getter and leading wicket-taker. Sri Lanka also hold the world record for highest winning margin by runs and by balls remaining. 

For all the latest Sri Lanka cricket news, Sportskeeda is your one-stop shop. You can check out the Sri Lanka national cricket team page and keep track of the Sri Lanka cricket latest news.

Fetching more content...