New User posted their first comment

Stats: Sri Lanka end Pakistan's unbeaten Test streak at home

Karunaratne scored a brilliant 196 in the first innings
Karunaratne scored a brilliant 196 in the first innings
Modified 10 Oct 2017

On the back of Dilruwan Perera's five-wicket haul in the second innings and Dimuth Karunaratne's 196, Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by 68 runs in the second Test at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. Courtesy of their win, Sri Lanka whitewashed Pakistan 2-0 in the UAE after being whitewashed by India at home across all three formats.

After winning the toss, Sri Lanka decided to bat. Opener Dimuth Karunaratne scored 196 and on the back of fifties from Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella and Dilruwan Perera, Sri Lanka posted 482. In reply, Pakistan were bowled out for 262 as only Azhar Ali and Haris Sohail scored fifties.

In the third innings, Sri Lanka were bowled out for just 96. Pakistan had to chase 317 for victory. Although Asad Shafiq scored a brilliant century, only captain Sarfraz Ahmed scored a century and they ended up being bowled out for 248. Dilruwan Perera added to his fifty in the first innings with a five-wicket haul in the second innings as the visitors ended with a famous victory.

Here are some interesting statistical highlights from the second Test:

1 - Sri Lanka is the first team in 115 years to win a Test after being bowled out for less than 100 in the third innings.

1 - Asad Shafiq is the only batsman to score two 4th inns centuries in the last year. Both have come in Day-Night Tests (Brisbane and Dubai).

2 - Dilruwan Perera becomes only the second Sri Lankan after Chaminda Vaas to score a score a fifty and take a five-wicket haul in a Test match twice.

4 - All four of Asad Shafiq's fifty-plus scores in the fourth innings have ended in defeat. He has scored two fifties, two centuries and all of them have ended in defeat.

5 - Only five batsmen have scored more centuries without getting dismissed in the 90s than Asad Shafiq, who has 11. Don Bradman (29), Michael Vaughan (18), Ian Botham (14), Polly Umrigar and Ijaz Ahmed (12 each).

6 - All six Day-Night Tests that have ended in a result.


9 - Pakistan's streak of 9 consecutive series at home without defeat came to an end.

2007 - Before today, the last time Pakistan lost a home series was against South Africa in Pakistan in 2007.

2010 - Sri Lanka became the first team since 2010 to beat Pakistan in a home Test series in the UAE.

Published 10 Oct 2017, 18:18 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now