Suchith's heroics help Karnataka beat Bangladesh A by four wickets

Ranji Champions Karnataka beat Bangladesh A in the three-day match

Jagadeesh Suchith’s 6-wicket haul helped Karnataka beat Bangladesh A by four wickets in the three-day match being held at Mysore. After shutting out the visitors’ second innings at 309, the domestic treble champions chased down the target of 181 in the 41st over to notch up an impressive victory, despite missing several of their key players.

After finishing off the second day’s play at 188 for 3, Bangladesh A was only able to put up 309 on the board after a lower order collapse triggered by Suchith. Shuvagata Hom scored an unbeaten half-century but ran out of partners in the end as they lost their final five wickets for just 24 runs.

Facing a race against time, Karnataka lost R. Samarth and Robin Uthappa early with only 13 on the board, but CM Gautam and Mayank Agarwal steadied the ship. Gautam played a counterattacking innings that yielded him 49 runs off just 35 balls. The skipper’s knock included 10 boundaries. Following his dismissal, Abhishek Reddy played the anchorman role to perfection allowing the likes of Shishir Bhavane and all-rounder Shreyas Gopal to chase down the total in quick time.

The Karnataka batsmen were able to ward off the Bangladeshi spinners who troubled them in the first innings.

For Bangladesh A, Anamul Haque had scored a brilliant 87-ball 89 but the likes of Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das and Nasir Hossain were guilty of not building on their starts and converting it into a big score allowing Karnataka to come back into the match when a draw looked like the most likely result at the start of the day’s play.

Karnataka put up some brilliant performances and Suchith, who is coming off an amazing KPL where he scored the joint fastest fifty on Indian soil, improved his chances of being selected for the national team in the near future by his match haul of seven wickets & a total of 49 runs in the two innings with the bat.

Brief Scores:

Bangladesh A: 158 all out and 309 all out (Anamul Haque 89, Shuvagata Hom 50; Suchith 60/6)

Karnataka: 287 all out and 185/6 ( CM Gautam 49, Shreyas Gopal 40; Al- Amin Hossain 23/2)

Result: Karnataka won by four wickets

Get India vs New Zealand Live Cricket Score for 3rd T20I at Sportskeeda. Follow us for latest News.

Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment