Favorites Edit

Syed Kirmani donates lifetime achievement award prize money to improve girls' education

875   //    06 Jan 2016, 13:48 IST
Kirmani was a member of India’s 1983 World Cup winning team

Former India cricketer Syed Mujtaba Hussein Kirmani, who is the recipient of Board of Control for Cricket in India's (BCCI) CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for 2014-15 has donated 25 percent of his prize money towards girls’ education. This was revealed by the former wicketkeeper-batsman’s wife, Habiba.

The 66-year-old was a member of Kapil Dev’s legendary 1983 World Cup-winning squad. He was conferred the prestigious Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding contribution to Indian cricket last month.

Kirmani received the award from BCCI president Shashank Manohar at the cricket board's annual awards ceremony in Mumbai on January 5. He received a trophy and a cheque of Rs. 25 lakh from which he will donate 6.25 lakh.

In a recent interview his wife Habiba said, "We have decided to donate 25 per cent (Rs 6.25 lakh) of this amount to the needy people of the country. We always believe that every family should have at least one educated person and the donation will be utilised for girls' education.”

When asked about her role in Kirmani’s success, his wife said in a lighter tone, "The BCCI should also consider felicitating cricketers' wives because they play a big role."

The Arjuna Award winner and his wife have always been a strong supporter of women’s education in the country.The Chennai born cricketer was awarded the Padma Sri by the Government of India in 1982.

Kirmani played 88 Tests and 49 ODI matches for India. In 88 Test matches he has scored 2759 runs with an average of 27.04. He also has 198 dismissals to his name with 160 catches and 38 stampings. He has 36 dismissals in 49 ODI appearances.    

The winners of Annual BCCI Awards were announced on December 31. India’s Test captain Virat Kohli will be presented Polly Umrigar Award, given to the cricketer of the year along with Syed Kirmani, who was presented with the Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award.

Indian woman cricket team player Mithali Raj was presented the M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for Best Woman Cricketer of 2014-15 in the senior category while Devika Vaidya was awarded from the junior category.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...