Favorites Edit

The Polly Umrigar award goes to Virat Kohli

1.27K   //    01 Nov 2012, 13:06 IST

Virat Kohli has been chosen for the Polly Umrigar Award for being India’s top international cricketer in 2011-12. Daring, tough and fiercely talented, Virat Kohli is one of the emerging faces of Indian cricket‘s next generation.

The BCCI issued a press release stating that Kohli will be awarded with a trophy and a cheque for Rs. 5 lakh. Virat had previously won the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award.

Kohli has had a decent run of games and his efforts were paid off and Kohli was handed over the vice-captaincy of the Indian team ahead of the 2012 Asia Cup.

Sachin Tendulkar will also be honoured for completing 100 international centuries at the BCCI Annual Awards ceremony to be held in Mumbai on November 21.

V.V.S. Laxman, who retired from international cricket in August, will also be felicitated at the function to be held at the Chambers Terrace, Taj Mahal Palace and Tower.

The award ceremony will also posthumously felicitate other Indian cricket legends such as – Vijay Merchant, Vijay Manjrekar, Dattu Phadkar, Vinoo Mankad, Ghulam Ahmed, M.L. Jaisimha and Dilip Sardesai.

The next-of-kin of each of these individuals will receive a trophy and cheque for Rs. 15 lakh.

The ceremony will also witness former India captain Sunil Gavaskar receiving the prestigious Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award. The award comprises a trophy, citation and cheque for Rs. 25 lakh.

Topics you might be interested in:
24 year old pessimist and serial cribber. Decade old Gooner who\'s created a niche for herself in this male-infested footie world.
Fetching more content...