Favorites Edit

Top 5 match-winning ODI bowling performances of 2017

Sujith Mohan
Top 5 / Top 10
1.23K   //    17 Oct 2017, 12:04 IST

Image result for bumrah 5 for
Jasprit Bumrah produced a cracker of a spell against Sri Lanka

While ODI cricket is becoming a batsman’s game more and more, cricket in 2017 has seen some balanced contests between bat and ball. As the game evolves, players evolve too. Bowlers who were once clueless against the hard-hitters, developed strategies to curtail the run flow and take wickets.

For instance, India's Yuzvendra Chahal repeatedly outfoxed Glenn Maxwell in the recently concluded ODI series. 

Pakistan’s title triumph in the Champions Trophy is a testimonial to the fact that bowlers demand equal esteem even in the shorter formats of the game. Like the good old days, Hasan Ali and M Amir troubled batsman with their spectacular fast bowling. It is no exaggeration to say that the bowlers won Pakistan their maiden Champions Trophy title.

Liam Plunkett, Rashid Khan, Hasan Ali and Chris Woakes deserve a special mention for their consistent performances throughout the year.

Here are the top five matching winning bowling performances of 2017 so far.

#5 Jasprit Bumrah, 10-2-27-5

In 2012, aged 19 and with an unusual bowling action, Bumrah played his first match for Mumbai Indians and took an impressive 3/32 against RCB. Three years later, he made his ODI debut against Australia in 2016. 

He started his career as a first-change bowler, but he is now India's new ball and death-over specialist in ODIs and T20s.

In the 3rd ODI of a bilateral series against Sri Lanka in Pallekele, Bumrah picked up his maiden five-wicket haul. He picked up the wicket of Niroshan Dickwella and Kusal Mendis with the new ball. He then dismissed Lahiru Thirimanne, Milinda Siriwardana, and Akila Dhananjaya to clean-up the Sri Lanka tail to finish 5/27. 

This match cemented his status as India's current ODI bowling linchpin. He stuck to basics with the new ball and used all his variations with the old ball and produced a gem of a spell.

1 / 5 NEXT
Sujith Mohan
Chennai Super Kings, Manchester United
Fetching more content...