Favorites Edit

ICC U-19 World Cup: India defeat Ireland despite slow start

6.23K   //    28 Jan 2016, 16:13 IST
Sarfaraz Khan led the way for India

India defeated Ireland in the ICC U-19 World Cup match held at Dhaka. India scored 268/9 while Ireland's chase came up short as they were all out in the 49th over for 189 runs.

India started off precariously as opener Ishan Kishan went out for a duck after facing just 3 deliveries. Rishabh Pant, the other opener went out after scoring just 6 runs from 22 balls.

Things looked bleak for India at this point but the next two batsmen added some stability to the batting lineup. Ricky Bhui scored 39 runs from 54 balls. He also hit 6 fours before being caught by Dennison on an Anders delivery.

Sarfaraz Khan was the best batsman for India as he scored 74 runs off of 70 balls. He added 7 fours as well. He was ably supported by Washington Sundar who added 62 runs off 71 balls. Their strong stand enabled India to post a respectable score to help hold Ireland at bay.

Zeeshan Ansari also tallied a respectable knock of 36 runs from 36 deliveries. While Mahipal Lomror added 17 runs off 18 balls for India.

For Ireland, Joshua Little and Rory Anders took 3 wickets each. Little allowed 52 runs while Anders conceded 35. They both bowled 10 overs each.

Ireland faced a daunting task to try and chase down India's target after their poor opening. Ireland openers did not fare much better than their Indian counterparts. Jack Tector was out for just 1 run and Stephen Doheny was out for 4 runs as well. They were both run out.

Adam Dennison came up next and stood at the crease for 45 deliveries. He scored 20 runs before losing his wicket. Lorcan Tucker and William McClintock added a pair of half-centuries for Ireland giving some momentum to the chase.

Tucker added 57 runs and McClintock scored 58. But after these two were out, the next five batsmen only managed a combined score of 13 runs among them.

Topics you might be interested in:
Name's Siddarth Sharma- Hoop, run, write, rinse, repeat. Awards- Sportskeeda Basketball Writer of the Year (2016)- Sportskeeda Veteran Keeda (2010-2012)-
Fetching more content...