New User posted their first comment

Video: AB de Villiers given out by Steve Bucknor off a double bounced ball [No Run Out]

  • On 2008, during a Test match Between South Africa and Bangladesh there was a rare incident where batsmen was given out of a double bounced ball. AB De ...
Crick Vids
Modified 25 Mar 2015, 01:00 IST
AB de Villiers bidding farewell to umpire Steve Bucknor after his last Test match in 2009

South Africans have a weird knack of finding new and newer ways of being defeated, a case in point being the ongoing World Cup. AB de Villiers, as seen in the video below, once found a very innovative way of getting himself out.

In 2008, during a Test match Between South Africa and Bangladesh there was this rare incident, where AB de Villiers was given out by the umpire Steve Bucknor, even though the ball bounced twice before it reached the bat.

A closer perusal of the rules show that the umpire was in his rights though, and that it was a very good decision he gave.

The rule says: “The umpire shall call and signal No ball if a ball which he considers to have been delivered, without having previously touched bat or person of the striker,

either (i) bounces more than twice

or (ii) rolls along the ground

before it reaches the popping crease.”

The ball had in fact dropped the second time after the popping crease, as seen from replays.

Video of the incident:

Published 25 Mar 2015, 00:22 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit