Favorites Edit

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018: Chand century leads Delhi to win; Mumbai defeat MP

2.95K   //    05 Feb 2018, 20:41 IST

Enter captio
Despite a broken jaw, Unmukt Chand hit 116 against Uttar Pradesh

Unmukt Chand returned to Delhi's playing XI in style with a solid knock of 116 against Uttar Pradesh as they posted 307/6 after being asked to bat first at Bilaspur. Delhi won by 55 runs as Uttar Pradesh folded for 252.

Chand's opening partner Hiten Dalal hit 57 in an opening stand of 107 and Rishabh Pant provided the finishing touches with a rapid knock of 28 from 18 balls with 3 fours and 2 sixes. The 24-year-old Chand, despite suffering a broken jaw, smacked 12 fours and 3 sixes and was the fourth to be dismissed, with Kartik Tyagi, 2/50, removing him in the 45th over.

For the hosts, number four Umang Sharma hit a ton of his own with 102, and added 101 for the fourth wicket with captain Akshdeep Nath. But the rest of the middle-order failed to find the tempo of a quick run chase as Kulwant Khejroliya bagged 4/34 and captain Pradeep Sangwan got 3/28.

Mumbai batted first against Madhya Pradesh at Chennai and put up 332/5 to beat them by 74 runs following a flying knock from Suryakumar Yadav, who bashed 134* from merely 85 balls with 11 fours and 7 sixes. He was well complimented by Jay Bista, whose 90 ensured the opposition bowlers had a tough time. Madhya Pradesh's scorecard featured many starts but none could convert them into big ones with Anshul Tripathi's 67 remaining the highest score. Off-spinner Shams Mulani got 4/62 to restrict Madhya Pradesh to 258 and help Mumbai to an easy win.

Tamil Nadu posted 311/8 and beat Gujarat by 76 runs courtesy centuries from Kaushik Gandhi and captain Vijay Shankar, who hit 127 and 100 respectively, and put on 218 for the third wicket. Towards the end of the Tamil Nadu innings, Narayan Jagadeesan got 27 from 18 to spurr them on to a big score as Chintan Gaja bagged 3/61 for Gujarat. They replied with a hundred from Bhargav Merai, whose over a run a ball 101 remained the sole contribution in a score of 235, as Aswin Crist picked three and Ravichandran Ashwin and Washington Sundar took two wickets each.

Brief Scores:

Group B

Maharashtra 294/3 in 45.5 overs (Tripathi 125*, Gaikwad 77; S Ghosh 1/36) beat Bengal 293/9 in 50 overs (Easwaran 103, Tiwary 80*; Sanklecha 2/39) by 7 wickets

Delhi 307/6 in 50 overs (Chand 116, Dalal 57; K Tyagi 2/50) beat Uttar Pradesh 252 in 45.3 overs (U Sharma 102, Nath 54; Khejroliya 4/34) by 55 runs

Himachal Pradesh 230/4 in 45.2 overs (Amit 101*, S Verma 55; SS Das 2/49) beat Tripura 229/9 in 50 overs (Yashpal 113*; Galetiya 3/21, P Jaiswal 3/36) by 6 wickets

Group C

Andhra Pradesh 235/4 in 45 overs (Sumanth 71*, Vihari 49; Lomror 1/28) beat Rajasthan 229/6 in 50 overs (Bist 82*, S Khan 58 retd; Ayyappa 3/57) by 6 wickets

Tamil Nadu 311/8 in 50 overs (Gandhi 127, Shankar 100; Gaja 3/61) beat Gujarat 235 in 45.1 overs (Merai 101; Crist 3/44, Washington 2/35) by 76 runs

Mumbai 332/5 in 50 overs (S Yadav 134*, Bista 90; Avesh 2/62) beat Madhya Pradesh 258 in 46.1 overs (Tripathi 67; Mulani 4/62, Matkar 3/50) by 74 runs

Group D

Saurashtra 286/7 in 50 overs (Jackson 106 retd, Pujara 60; P Rao 2/46) beat Chattisgarh 254/9 in 50 overs (Manoj 58; D Jadeja 4/41, Sanandia 3/53) by 32 runs

Hyderabad 329/5 in 50 overs (P Reddy 127, Sumanth 56*; R Raj 2/57) beat Services 201 in 40.4 overs (Rahul 64; Siraj 5/45, KR Rayudu 2/11) by 128 runs

Vidarbha 300 in 49 overs (J Sharma 79, R Sanjay 77; R Shukla 4/52) beat Jharkhand 293/7 in 50 overs (S Tiwary 65, Deobrat 60; YS Thakur 2/45) by 7 runs

Topics you might be interested in:
A childhood cricket enthusiast, my earliest cricket memory goes back to the 2003 World Cup, when I was 7. With a hobby of cricket commentary and writing from my early days, I earned an invitation for employment by aged only 20, and have also had the opportunity to interact with the great analyst Harsha Bhogle.
Fetching more content...