Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018: Karnataka beat Railways; Baroda, Odisha register massive wins

Enter capt
Anureet Singh's all-round performance went in vain against Karnataka in the Vijay Hazare Trophy
Modified 16 Feb 2018

An all-round show from Anureet Singh was not enough for Railways to go past Karnataka in a run chase of 258. Karnataka batted first but managed only 257 with opener Mayank Agarwal top-scoring with 89. After medium-pacer Amit Mishra removed Karun Nair and BR Sharath cheaply while Anureet accounted for Ravikumar Samarth, Agarwal and Pavan Deshpande put up a stand of 132 to stabilize Karnataka. The rest of the middle-order chipped in with minor contributions as they reached a respectable total with Anureet claiming 3/36.

For Railways, it was the lower middle-order that scored all the runs, with Ankit Yadav, at number seven, making 51, while Anureet came next with 59. Tailenders Avinash Yadav and Mishra gave it their all, but four wickets each from Prasidh Krishna and T Pradeep restricted Railways to 241, leading Karnataka to a 16-run win.

In another match, Baroda thrashed Assam by 279 runs after posting a massive 378/7 with 148 from Aditya Waghmode, who strung 165 with his opening partner Kedar Devdhar, who made 61. The end-overs business was done well by Vishnu Solanki and Urvil Patel, with quick cameos pushing Baroda's score up.

Surprisingly, 50 out of 99 runs came from Parvez Aziz with just Romario Sharma entering double figures otherwise. Each of Baroda's bowlers got into the act with Swapnil Singh bowling two overs โ€“ both were maidens โ€“ and claiming two wickets.

Also, Odisha won comprehensively against Haryana, having bundled them out for only 170. Deepak Behera claimed 6/22 as Haryana were wrecked, only Sanjay Dhull hitting 72 and number nine Harshal Patel making 50. All Odisha needed was their top three to topple Haryana, with opener Anurag Sarangi ending on 84* and Shantanu Mishra making 53*.

Brief Scores:

Group A

Karnataka 257 in 48.1 overs (Agarwal 89, Deshpande 65; Anureet 3/36) beat Railways 241 in 47.1 overs (Anureet 59; Krishna 4/35, Pradeep 4/48) by 16 runs

Baroda 378/7 in 50 overs (Waghmode 148, Devdhar 61; Parag 2/35) beat Assam 99 in 30 overs (Aziz 50; Swapnil 2/0, Hooda 2/13) by 279 runs

Odisha 172/1 in 31.4 overs (Sarangi 84*, S Mishra 53*; H Patel 1/31) beat Haryana 170 in 45.4 overs (Dhull 72, H Patel 50; Behera 6/22) by 9 wickets

Published 16 Feb 2018
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now