Favorites Edit

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2018: Mumbai thump Gujarat; Tamil Nadu lose to Goa

11.31K   //    06 Feb 2018, 19:33 IST

Siddesh Lad's 129 against Gujarat took Mumbai to a comfortable win in the Vijay Hazare Trophy

Mumbai posted their second consecutive total of over 300 to register another win in the Vijay Hazare Trophy. After putting up 317 against Gujarat, they registered a win by 41 runs courtesy of a century from Siddesh Lad and four wickets from Royston Dias. Lad, who hit 129 at a strike rate of over a hundred, guided Mumbai with crucial partnerships of 88 for the second wicket with Akhil Herwadkar and 127 for the fourth wicket with captain Aditya Tare. He smashed 11 fours and four sixes while Tare's 51 and late runs from Shubham Ranjane ensured Mumbai had a huge score.

In the Gujarat chase, only captain Priyank Panchal, 89, and Bhargav Merai, 64, played substantial knocks as the innings was repeatedly hurt with wickets from Dias and Shivam Malhotra. Though the middle-order got off to starts, they could not build on to chase 318 with Malhotra and Dhawal Kulkarni getting two scalps each.

Elsewhere, Goa chased down an easy target of 211 against Tamil Nadu with opener Swapnil Asnodkar getting 103 before getting out hit wicket. Asnodkar added 98 for the second wicket with skipper Sagun Kamat, who got a patient 38. Though the middle-order of Snehal Kauthankar, Keenan Vaz and Suyash Prabhudessai came and went cheaply, the 33-year-old Asnodkar held one end firmly in a knock with nine fours and two sixes. Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, with 2/30 in ten overs, tried his best to keep the Goa batsmen quiet but they won comfortably with four wickets in hand.

Before that, Tamil Nadu's openers Kaushik Gandhi, 43, and Murali Vijay gave them a soild start with a stand of 89 in which Vijay got 51. Baba Aparajith, from number three, continued from there with 52, but the batting collapsed thereafter. From 101/1, Tamil Nadu slipped to 210 all out as only Washington Sundar entered double figures from number four onwards. Spinner Darshan Misal and pacer Srinivas Fadte with three wickets each kept Goa in the game as a below-par total did not suffice in the end.

Brief Scores

Group C

Andhra 190/4 in 38.5 overs (Vihari 61, Hebbar 42; Datey 2/26) beat Madhya Pradesh 184 in 44.2 overs (Tripathi 39; PG Reddy 6/24, Ayyappa 1/18) by 6 wickets

Goa 211/6 in 46.2 overs (Asnodkar 103, Kamat 38; R Ashwin 2/30) beat Tamil Nadu 210 in 48.5 overs (Aparajith 52; Misal 3/42, Fadte 3/51) by 4 wickets

Mumbai 317/8 in 50 overs (Lad 129, Tare 51; I Chaudhary 3/46) beat Gujarat 276 in 47.4 overs (Panchal 89, Merai 64; R Dias 4/64) by 41 runs

Group D


Chattisgarh 221/6 in 48.4 overs (Chandraker 70, Sahban 52*; Bamal 2/26) beat Services 219 in 44.5 overs (Rahul Singh 91, NH Verma 42; Hussain 6/44) by 4 wickets

Hyderabad 333/7 in 50 overs (Rohit Rayudu 126, PA Reddy 75; R Shukla 2/69) beat Jharkhand 267 in 46.5 overs (Surwar 58*, Kishan 51; Ravi Kiran 2/41) by 66 runs

Vidarbha 245 in 48.2 overs (Ganesh Satish 94; Nazir 3/41, Dayal 2/43) beat Jammu & Kashmir 172 in 38.4 overs (Dayal 55; Wagh 3/26, U Yadav 2/30) by 73 runs

Topics you might be interested in:
A childhood cricket enthusiast, my earliest cricket memory goes back to the 2003 World Cup, when I was 7. With a hobby of cricket commentary and writing from my early days, I earned an invitation for employment by aged only 20, and have also had the opportunity to interact with the great analyst Harsha Bhogle.
Fetching more content...