New User posted their first comment

West Indies announce ODI and T20I squad for New Zealand series

West Indies v Zimbabwe - 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup
Samuels and Gayle retain their spot in the ODI squad
Modified 05 Dec 2017

Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels retain their place in the West Indies ODI squad while left-arm spinner Nikita Miller has been called up for the three-match ODI series against New Zealand. Uncapped fast bowler Ronsford Beaton also earned an ODI call-up while Devendra Bishoo was left out.

The T20I side also sees the return of Samuel Badree, the No.4 ranked T20I bowler in the world along with all-rounder Rayad Emrit and explosive batsman Andre Fletcher while Ashley Nurse has been left out. A strong T20I side also includes the likes of Kieron Pollard and No.6 ranked T20I bowler Sunil Narine.

Nikita Miller's last ODI was in the 2015 World Cup but nine wickets in West Indies' domestic 50-overs tournament in 2016/17 at an economy rate of 3.67 helped him make a comeback while Beaton's impressive exploits for West Indies A and in the Caribbean Premier League, where he picked up 11 wickets earned his maiden call-up.

Stellar performances in the CPL also saw Emrit, Fletcher and Chadwick Walton earn their place in the T20I side.

On the inclusion of Miller, WI Selection chairman Courtney Browne, said: "Miller has played ODI cricket previously. Along with his vast experience in our domestic competitions, we felt that he is the right fit to form a part of our ODI bowling unit at this time. With the World Cup qualifiers fast approaching, we felt that this is not the right time to introduce an inexperienced slow bowler. This series against New Zealand and our CWI Regional Super50 Cup next year are the only chances we will have for preparation prior to the World Cup qualifiers, which are scheduled to be played next March in Zimbabwe."

Emrit, he added has been on the fringes and was rewarded for consistent domestic performances.

West Indies, who are currently 0-1 down in the two-match Test series against New Zealand will play three ODIs and T20Is. The ODI series will begin on December 20 while the T20Is start from December 29.

ODI squad: Jason Holder (captain), Jason Mohammed, Sunil Ambris, Ronsford Beaton, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope (wk), Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams

T20 squad: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Samuel Badree, Ronsford Beaton, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams

Published 05 Dec 2017, 16:13 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now