⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

The Zimbabwe team that reached the Super Six of the 1999 World Cup: Where are they now?

Deeptesh Sen
Top 5 / Top 10
23 Jun 2016, 14:32 IST

Zimbabwe '99

The Zimbabwean team stunned the cricketing world by making it to the Super Six stage of the 1999 Cricket World Cup. With the likes of Neil Johnson, Heath Streak, the Flower brothers and led by the inimitable Alistair Campbell, that was possibly the best Zimbabwean team to have represented the country in the last couple of decades.

In the early 2000s however, much of the good work that was being done by this talented outfit got undone as the country and the Zimbabwean cricket board were plunged into the quagmire of politics and myriad controversies. Sick of the political situation, a lot of the talented cricketers of that generation announced their untimely retirement and chose to move on.

So what are most of the talented Zimbabwean cricketers of that generation doing now? Let's take a look.

Grant Flower

grant flower

Grant Flower was unarguably one of the finest batsmen that Zimbabwe have ever produced. Along with his brother Andy Flower, he was one of the batting mainstays for the Zimbabwean team for over a decade.

The Flower brothers also enjoyed formidable batting partnerships during their career and together came to be known as 'Flower power'. Grant Flower was also the architect behind some of Zimbabwe's thrilling victories in the late 90s.

He was a part of the large contingent of Zimbabwean players who announced their retirement in 2004 as a protest against the controversial removal of Heath Streak. He then went to sign a contract with Essex as a Kolpak player, where he was immensely successful.

He made a sensational return to the Zimbabwean team in 2010 turning down a lucrative Essex contract. But following some poor performances, he retired before the 2011 World Cup. During his final stint with Zimbabwe, he was already functioning as a batting coach for the team.

He was appointed as the batting coach for the Pakistan team in 2014 for a period of two years.

1 / 11 NEXT
Fetching more content...