Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019: Round 1, Mumbai vs Sikkim: Dream11 Prediction, Playing XI Updates & Fantasy Cricket Tips - February 21st, 2019

  • Here a few tips to help you pick your Dream11 team
Dwijesh Reddy
Modified 20 Feb 2019, 09:05 IST

Fantasy Cricket Tips
Fantasy Cricket Tips

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is underway with heavyweights Mumbai taking on minnows, Sikkim in the first round of fixtures set to take place on February 21. Mumbai walk into this match as the firm favourites with the likes of the fit-again, Prithvi Shaw and Ajinkya Rahane in their ranks while for Sikkim, the match presents an opportunity to play against international players and fine-tune their skills for the upcoming matches in the league stage.

With the match set to held in Indore, a one-sided match is on the cards for Rahane and men although Sikkim could spring a surprise over Mumbai.

Squads to choose from:


Ajinkya Rahane (C), Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Dhawal Kulkarni, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Suryakumar Yadav, Akash Parkar, Eknath Kerkar, Dhrumil Matkar, Shams Mulani, Shubham Ranjane, Tushar Deshpande, Royston Dias


Tashi Pintso, Karma Bhutia, Mandup Bhutia, Rinzing Bhutia, Bibek Dayali, Bipul Sharma, Ishwar Chaudhary, Nilesh Lamichaney, Lee Yong Lepcha, Milind Kumar, Pritam Nirala, Amosi Rai, Plazor Tamang, Asish Thapa

Playing XI Updates:


Ajinkya Rahane will lead Mumbai, who boast of talent such as Shreyas Iyer and Prithvi Shaw in their line-up. Their bowling line-up is also equally strong with Shardul Thakur, Dhawal Kulkarni and Tushar Deshpande expected to wreak havoc amongst the Sikkim batsmen on Thursday. With Shivam Dubey unavailable, Dhrumil Ranjane could play against Sikkim.

Possible XI: Shaw, Rahane(C), Iyer, Surya, Lad, Tare(WK), Ranjane, Dhawal, Mulani, Shardul and Tushar.



Bipul Sharma and Milind Kumar are Sikkim's go to players with both bat and ball as they are set to field an inexperienced side against Mumbai. Ishwar Chaudhary is another good bowler who is capable of troubling the Mumbai batsmen but it will be down to their ability to play the pace and swing of Shardul Thakur and Dhawal Kulkarni which is going to key in the first six overs.

Possible XI: Dayali(WK), Thapa, Tamang, Karma Bhutia, Milind, Bipul, Lamichaney, Mendup, Rai, Ishwar and Pintso.

Match Details:

Mumbai vs Sikkim, Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019, Round 1, Group C

21st February 2019, 9:30 AM IST

Emerald High School Ground, Indore

Fantasy Tips and Suggestions:

Wicket-keeper: Although Aditya Tare would be the preferred choice of many, Bibek Dayali should be the one who must be backed considering the might of Mumbai's top order and the fact that it might not even come down to Tare.

Batsmen: With Mumbai destined to make short work of Sikkim, three Mumbai batsmen are a must in the side. Along with the trio of Iyer, Shaw and Rahane, Suryakumar Yadav could be handy with his finishing abilities sure to play a part if Mumbai were to bat first. Along with them, Asish Thapa would be a great selection to the side.

All-rounders: Bipul Sharma and Milind Kumar are must haves in the side with no viable options from the Sikkim side on offer. Milind Kumar scored 1331 runs in the Ranji Trophy season and would certainly be a great selection. Shubham Ranjane could also be picked if an option from Mumbai is required.

Bowlers: Shardul Thakur and Dhawal Kulkarni are must haves in the team with their swing and accuracy bound to account for a couple of wickets in the first six overs. Ishwar Chaudhary is Sikkim's premier bowler and should be backed as well. The likes of Tushar Deshpande and Mandup Bhutia are handy options to have in the fantasy side.

Captain: In case of a one-sided match, the likes of Prithvi Shaw and Shardul Thakur are the ideal options for captaincy. Prithvi Shaw is making a comeback after suffering an injury last year and considering the quality of the Sikkim attack, this could be the perfect chance for Shaw to indulge himself into domestic action.

Fantasy Suggestion #1: Bibek Dayali (WK), Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Asish Thapa, Bipul Sharma, Milind Kumar, Ishwar Chaudhary, Dhawal Kulkarni, Shardul Thakur and Tushar Deshpande. Captain: Prithvi Shaw

Fantasy Suggestion #2: Bibek Dayali (WK), Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer, Ajinkya Rahane, Suryakumar Yadav, Asish Thapa, Milind Kumar, Mandup Bhutia, Shams Mulani, Tushar Deshpande and Shardul Thakur. Captain: Shardul Thakur

Published 20 Feb 2019, 09:05 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit