⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

East Bengal have won seven major trophies since Mohun Bagan’s last silverware

Amoy Ghoshal
Top 5 / Top 10
08 Jan 2014, 19:10 IST

eb other

By clinching their record 35th Calcutta Football League (CFL) title on Wednesday, East Bengal have ensured that Saturday’s clash against arch-rivals Mohun Bagan will be inconsequential. But additionally, East Bengal’s fourth straight CFL triumph means that they have won seven major trophies since Mohun Bagan’s last silverware.

The last success that the Mariners enjoyed came in May 2010 when they defeated United SC (known as Chirag United back then) under controversial circumstances to lift their 29th local league title. Since then the green-and-maroon brigade have finished runners-up in the CFL thrice and also reached the finals of the Federation Cup and IFA Shield. But silverware has remained elusive although they have had six different coaches in this period.

Mohun Bagan did win the Airlines Gold Cup in 2012 but the whole tournament was conducted like a joke as the Mariners only had to play one game while the final didn’t even take place following several postponements. More importantly it isn’t really a major competition hence in this analysis the Super Cup and Mohammedan Sporting silver jubilee tournament that East Bengal won have also not been considered.

Karim Bencherifa’s side will be looking to end the club’s trophy drought this season with the Federation Cup and IFA Shield being the remaining targets but here Sportskeeda takes a look at the six trophies that East Bengal won before their latest CFL success.

1 / 7 NEXT
Fetching more content...