I-League 2nd Division 2018: Langsning FC rout Bengaluru FC 'B', Chennaiyin FC 'B' defeat Mohammedan SC

Bengaluru FC Reserves suffered a huge carnage at the hands of Langsning.
Bengaluru FC Reserves suffered a huge carnage at the hands of Langsning
Modified 01 Apr 2020

A Group C double-header in the I-League 2nd Division saw four goals scored as Langsning FC thrashed Bengaluru FC 'Reserves' 3-0 in Bengaluru while Chennaiyin FC 'Reserves' pipped Mohammedan SC 1-0 in Kolkata.

Sportskeeda takes a look at both the games in brief:

MATCH 1: Bengaluru FC 'B' 0-3 Langsning FC

Bengaluru FC B XI: Aditya Patra (GK), Asheer Akhtar, Ajay Chettri, Myron Sezie Mendes (C), Robinson Singh, Biswa Darjee, Parag Satish, Prashanth Kalinga, Altamesh Sayed, Leon Augustine, Lamgoulen Hangsning

Langsning FC: Surjay Pariyar (GK), Kento Sakurai, Restom Khriam, Kynsaibor Lhuid, KItboklang Pale, Ronaldkydon Nonglait, Lancine Toure, Milancy Khongstia, Ebormi Buam, Dibinroy Nongspung, Brolington Warlalpih (C)

The Blues got off to a shaky start in the game as Langsning looked the better side from kick-off itself.

The Blues' shot-stopper Aditya Patra was kept extremely busy in the first half, pulling off some brilliant saves.

Langsning FC finally found the back of the net in the first half additional time through Toure's header from a Kitboklang corner. Aditya Patra was subbed off moments later due to an injury.

Bengaluru FC kept pushing on for the equalizer but the forwards Naorem Roshan Singh and skipper Myron Mendes were wasteful in capitalizing on the created chances as the Shillong based side held on.

The visitors struck twice in quick succession through Kitboklang Pale (89’) and Brolington Warlalpih (90+5’) in the final minutes to seal a comfortable 3-0 win.

Bengaluru FC 'B' will host Mohammedan SC on April 29 in Bengaluru while Langsning FC will face Jamshedpur FC 'B' on May 1 in Shillong.

Mohammedan were tamed by Chennaiyin Reserves.
tamed by Chennaiyin Reserves

MATCH 2: Mohammedan SC 0-1 Chennaiyin FC 'B'

Mohammedan SC XI: Subham Roy (GK), Kamran Farooque, Cho Tshering Lepcha, Sukhwinder Singh, Satyam Sharma, Ainish Zamadar, Fikru Teferra, Dipendu Dowary, Wael Ayan, Arijeet Singh, Dalraj Singh

Chennaiyin FC B XI: Sayak Barai (GK), Aman Chettri, Saurabh Meher, Abhishek Nair, Bedashwor Singh, Mohammed Sarif Khan, Hendry Antonay, Ajin Tom, Prosenjit Chakraborty (C), Rohmingthanga

Mohammedan SC got the game underway and were looking purposeful in the initial exchanges as their front line Fikru Teferra, Wael Ayan and Dipendu Dowary kept the Blues custodian busy.

However, Chennaiyin took the lead against the run of play as Prasenjit Chakraborty skipped past Dalraj Singh to slot it home past an oncoming Subham Roy in the 35th minute.

Despite going for the equalizer, the Black Panthers allowed the Blues to get control of the game as they dictated terms for the rest of the game, not allowing the home side an inch of space to exploit. The Blues held on and registered a hard-fought 0-1 win over the Kolkata Giants.

Chennaiyin FC 'Reserves' will lock horns with Bengaluru FC 'Reserves' up next on May 5 in Bengaluru while Mohammedan SC will also face Bengaluru FC 'Reserves' four days prior on May 1 in Bengaluru as well.

Group C Standings (Image :
Group C Standings (Image:
Published 25 Apr 2018
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now