Favorites Edit

I-League - Round 4: Dempo remain top, mixed results across India

648   //    05 Nov 2012, 03:55 IST

The fourth round of the 2012/13 I-League was played on November 3/4 across the country with a healthy 19 goals scored across the seven matches with the league getting more and more tense round by round.The highlight of Round 4 was the clash between East Bengal Club and Dempo SC which ended in a one-all draw. East Bengal will have themselves to blame and good goalkeeping by Subhashis Roy Chowdhury for not keeping the points in Kolkata, while Dempo will lament a penalty not given for an infringement by Soumik Dey on Ryuji Sueoka. Chidi Edeh had given East Bengal a first half penalty lead against his former club, while Peter Carvalho headed in a late second half equaliser.Meanwhile former India captain Baichung Bhutia had a forgettable return to action for United Sikkim FC against the young guns of Pailan Arrows at the Paljor Stadium in Gangtok. Baichung came on as a second half substitute, but received two yellow cards within seven minutes and was off again in his first I-League match for his own club. The match ended goalless.

Odafe Onyeka Okolie returned to form with a hattrick against Sporting Clube de Goa to give Mohun Bagan their second win in a row, while elsewhere Mumbai FC lost 0-1 against Salgaocar FC to remain without a point.

At the top Dempo SC dropped their first points, but remain first with 10 points, now ahead of Churchill Brothers on 9 points with Pailan Arrows and East Bengal Club on eight, while Prayag United SC and Shillong Lajong FC are on seven points.

Round 4 Stats

03-November-2012: East Bengal Club 1-1 Dempo SC (Kolkata)
Goals: 1-0 Chidi Edeh (32′ pen), 1-1 Peter Carvalho (83′)

03-November-2012: Mumbai FC 0-1 Salgaocar SC (Pune)
Goals: 0-1 Francis Fernandes (9′)

04-November-2012: United Sikkim FC 0-0 Pailan Arrows (Gangtok)
Goals: none

04-November-2012: ONGC 2-4 Air India (Delhi)
Goals: 0-1,0-2 Pradeep Mohanraj (3′,15′), 0-3 Prakash Thorat (43′), 1-3 Kenistan C (72′), 2-3 Sachin Gawas (73′), 2-4 Ong Teshering Lepcha (87′)

04-November-2012: Mohun Bagan AC 3-1 Sporting Clube de Goa (Kolkata)
Goals: 1-0,2-0,3-0 Odafe Onyeka Okolie (16′,42′,56′), 3-1 Joseph Pereira (90+1′)

04-November-2012: Pune FC 0-1 Churchill Brothers SC (Pune)
Goals: 0-1 Roberto Mendes Silva (90+1′ pen)

04-November-2012: Shillong Lajong FC 3-2 Prayag United SC (Shillong)
Goals: 0-1,2-2 Ranty Martins Soleye (4′,’), 1-1,2-1 Gbeneme Friday (20′,23′), 3-2 Boithang Haokip (68′)

Topics you might be interested in:
I've been reporting about football since 1998 - as founder of IndianFootball.Com, for other publications &amp; have also worked for radio &amp; television. You can follow me on my "Arunava About Football" blog <a href="">ArunFoot</a> &amp; on <a href="">Twitter</a>
Fetching more content...