Favorites Edit

I-League - Round 5: ONGC upset Dempo, East Bengal go to the top

953   //    19 Nov 2012, 10:33 IST

The sixth round of the 2012/13 I-League was played from November 16 to 18 across the country, with a healthy 21 goals scored across six matches, with the Pune FC versus Air India match postponed due to the death of Bal Thackeray. The upset of this round came as top of the table Dempo SC lost against bottom side ONGC 1-3 in Delhi. What was even more surprising was the fact that victory for the Oilmen was deserving, against a disappointing Dempo side. This gave Churchill Brothers SC and East Bengal Club a chance to go top, and the Kolkata giants won 3-0 rather easily in Goa to stay on as the only undefeated side in the League.

In other matches, Mohun Bagan AC extended their positive run with a 3-0 win against Salgaocar FC, while Mumbai FC recorded their second win in a row with a 4-1 trashing of Shillong Lajong FC, and Sporting Clube de Goa returned to winning ways with a 2-1 victory against United Sikkim, who drop into the relegation zone, and Prayag United jumped into second spot by defeating the Pailan Arrows 2-1.

Round 6 Stats:

16-November-2012: ONGC 3-1 Dempo SC (Delhi)
Goals: 1-0 Shorabuddin Mollick (12′), 2-0 Jatin Singh Bisht (58′), 2-1 Peter Carvalho (61′), 3-1 Eric Brown (90+3′)

17-November-2012: Churchill Brothers SC 0-3 East Bengal Club (Margao)
Goals: 0-1,0-3 Chidi Edeh (5′,90+’), 0-2 Manandeep Singh (76′)

17-November-2012: Mumbai FC 4-1 Shillong Lajong FC (Pune)
Goals: 1-0,3-1 Justine Stephen (18′,82′), 2-0 Gabriel Fernandes (20′), 2-1 Sushil Kumar Singh (75′), 4-1 N.D. Opara (90+’)

17-November-2012: Mohun Bagan AC 3-0 Salgaocar SC (Kolkata)
Goals: 1-0 Denson Devadas (4′), 2-0 Odafe Onyeka Okolie (19′), 3-0 Cyprian Stanley Okoroigwe (61′)

18-November-2012: Sporting Clube de Goa 2-1 United Sikkim FC (Margao)
Goals: 1-0 Seiya Sugishita (10′), 2-0 Ogba Kalu Nnanna (15′), 2-1 Sandesh Jhingan (45′)

18-November-2012: Pailan Arrows 1-2 Prayag United SC (Kolkata)
Goals: 0-1 C.K. Vineeth (12′), 1-1 Narayan Das (85′), 1-2 Lalkamal Bhowmick (88′)

18-November-2012: Pune FC – Air India (Pune) – Match indefinitely postponed

Topics you might be interested in:
I've been reporting about football since 1998 - as founder of IndianFootball.Com, for other publications &amp; have also worked for radio &amp; television. You can follow me on my "Arunava About Football" blog <a href="">ArunFoot</a> &amp; on <a href="">Twitter</a>
Fetching more content...