Favorites Edit

I-League - Round 9: Dempo go top, Arrows impressive

678   //    03 Dec 2012, 09:02 IST

The ninth round of the 2012/13 I-League was played on December 1/2 across the country with 18 goals scored across seven matches with Dempo SC returning to the top of the table as East Bengal Club and Churchill Brothers SC both drew their matches.Dempo SC were tested by a fighting Salgaocar FC, but has been often the case this season Salgaocar in the end were beaten. Dempo took a first half lead through a Rohan Ricketts goal before Sean Daniel Rooney equalised after the break, but there was heart break for Salgaocar as their former player Ryuji Sueoka scored the winner for Dempo.Meanwhile, East Bengal Club and Churchill Brothers SC were held to a goalless draw by Northeast opponents. East Bengal could not break their Shillong hoodoo as Lajong FC held when goalless, while Churchill Brothers could not score against a fighting United Sikkim FC.

The match of Round 9 was certainly played in Kolkata in which Mumbai FC scored a massive 3-2 upset against Prayag United SC 3-2 with a lot of action towards the end of the game with two goals in injury time.

The Pailan Arrows returned to winning ways in style as they trashed ONGC 4-1 at the Saltlake stadium. After Deepak Devrani gave the Arrows an early lead, the Oilmen’s Liberian Eric Brown equalized before talented striker Holicharan Narzary gave the young Arrows the lead once more. In the second session a penalty from Milan Ongnam Singh and Alwyn George ensured victory for the Arrows.

Round 9 Stats

01-December-2012: Pailan Arrows 4-1 ONGC (Kolkata)
Goals: 1-0 Deepak Devrani (9′), 1-1 Eric Brown (21′), 2-1 Holicharan Narzary (26′), 3-1 Milan Ongnam Singh (57′ pen’), 4-1 Alwyn George (84′)

01-December-2012: Salgaocar SC 1-2 Dempo SC (Margao)
Goals: 0-1 Rohan Ricketts (29′), 1-1 Sean Daniel Rooney (59′), 1-2 Ryuji Sueoka (84′)

01-December-2012: Shillong Lajong FC 0-0 East Bengal Club (Shillong)
Goals: none

02-December-2012: United Sikkim FC 0-0 Churchill Brothers SC (Gangtok)
Goals: none

02-December-2012: Sporting Clube de Goa 0-1 Air India (Margao)
Goals: 0-1 Baldeep Singh (35′)

02-December-2012: Prayag United SC 3-2 Mumbai FC (Kolkata)
Goals: 1-0 Ranty Martins Soleye (28′), 1-1 Evans Quao (52′), 1-2 Abhishek Yadav (81′), 2-2 Shankar Oraon (90+’), 2-3 Yakubu Yusif (90+4′)

02-December-2012: Pune FC 2-2 Mohun Bagan AC (Pune)
Goals: 1-0 Chika Wali (30′), 2-0 Izumi Arata (74′), 2-1,2-2 Odafe Onyeka Okolie (77′,84′)

Topics you might be interested in:
I've been reporting about football since 1998 - as founder of IndianFootball.Com, for other publications &amp; have also worked for radio &amp; television. You can follow me on my "Arunava About Football" blog <a href="">ArunFoot</a> &amp; on <a href="">Twitter</a>
Fetching more content...