Favorites Edit

ISL 2017/18: The season in numbers

Ashwan Rao
845   //    20 Mar 2018, 23:30 IST

Chennaiyin FC- the 2017/18 winners
Chennaiyin FC- the 2017/18 winners

The fourth season of the Hero Indian Super League concluded at the Sree Kanteerava stadium in Bengaluru on March 17, with Chennaiyin FC defeating the hosts Bengaluru FC by 3-2 in a high-voltage final. This was Chennai's second ISL title and they equalled ATK's record for the most number of titles.

The final lived up much to its hype and expectations, with goals coming from 'Captain fantastic' Sunil Chhetri and Miku for Bengaluru FC and the Brazilian duo of Mailson Alves (a brace) and Raphael Augusto for Chennaiyin FC.

The 2017-18 season provided the Indian Football fans much to celebrate- the duration of the tournament was longer, the league got the AFC recognition for the first time and of course the quality of football it offered.

Let us now look at some of the important numbers of the 2017-18 Hero ISL season.

0 - The table-toppers of the league stage have never won the title.

1 - It was the first time that an ISL player transferred mid-season to a foreign club- Edu Garcia of Bengaluru FC moved to the Chinese Super League club Zhejiang Lucheng.

1 -  The away goal rule was introduced in the ISL for the first time this season.

2 - Number of titles won by Chennaiyin FC so far in the ISL, equalling ATK’s record.

2 -Two new teams were added to the league - Bengaluru FC and Jamshedpur FC.

3 - The number of finals lost by Thongkhosiem Haokip of Bengaluru FC. (2015- FC Goa, 2016- Kerala Blasters, 2017/18- Bengaluru FC)

4 - The fourth season of the league took place for four months, from November 17 to March 17.

5 - The number of foreign players allowed in the playing XI in the 2017-18 season.

6 - The minimum number of Indian players required in the playing XI this season.

7 - The total number of assists made by Marcelo Pereira of FC Pune City, the most by any player this season.

8 - The number of clean sheets kept by both Bengaluru FC and Chennaiyin FC.

8.64 - The rating given to the Delhi Dynamos FC forward, Kalu Uche - the highest rated player of this season.

10 - The total number of teams that participated in the fourth season.

13 - The number of matches lost by the Northeast United FC in the 2017/18 season.

14 - The number of goals scored by the ‘Captain fantastic’ Sunil Chettri of Bengaluru FC- the most by an Indian.

18 - The number of goals scored by the Golden boot winner, Ferran Corominas of FC Goa.

20 - The total number of Red cards received in this season.

43 - The total number of goals scored by FC Goa this season, the most by any team.

46 - The total number of shots on target by Sunil Chhetri of Bengaluru FC, the most for any player.

51 - The number of clean sheets kept throughout the tournament.

55 - The total number of saves made by Amrinder Singh of Mumbai City FC, the most by any goal-keeper.

75 - The total number of goals scored by the Indian players.

95 - The total number of matches played in the 2017/18 ISL season.

261 - The total number of goals scored across the 95 matches this season, including the semi-finals and the finals.

295 - The number of crosses made by the Delhi Dynamos FC, the most by any side in season four.

338 - The total number of yellow cards received.

1799 - The total number of interceptions made in this season.

1878 - The total number of blocks in the 2017-18 season.

2621 - The total number of fouls made in this season.

10798 - The total number of passes made by FC Goa, the most by any side.

8,00,00,000 - The 2017-18 winners, Chennaiyin FC were awarded the prize money of INR 8 crore.

Topics you might be interested in:
Ashwan Rao
Sports- Love of my life
Fetching more content...