New User posted their first comment

ISL domestic player draft: Mumbai and Kerala pick four India internationals each

Amoy Ghoshal
Modified 22 Jul 2014
Teams have picked up players from the ISL domestic Draft

42 players picked from the 84-man pool

In a historic moment for Indian football the two-day Indian Super League domestic player draft kicked off in Tuesday in Mumbai with 42 players being picked by six different franchises (Atletico de Kolkata, Delhi Dynamos, Kerala Blasters FC, Pune and Bengaluru). 

The other two franchises – North East United FC and Goa – retained the players from their two respective partner I-League clubs Shillong Lajong and Dempo.

There were seven rounds for six franchises to choose from an 84-man players pool and there will be seven more on Wednesday. Each franchise will have 14 Indian players, seven internationals and one marquee foreigner.

The notable picks

Ranbir Kapoor-co-owned Mumbai and Sachin Tendulkar’s Kerala Blasters FC picked up four current India internationals. Mumbai chose two of the most expensive Indian players in Subrata Pal and Syed Rahim Nabi besides adding midfielder Lalrindika Ralte and defender Raju Gaikwad

Kerala franchise picked up East Bengal midfield general Mehtab Hossain besides adding three more players who have been part of the India national team in the last two years – Nirmal Chettri, Gurwinder Singh and Sandesh Jhingan.

Atletico de Kolkata picked up three current East Bengal players in Cavin Lobo, Arnab Mondal and Mohammed Rafique. Bengaluru’s star pick was India defender Gouramangi Singh while Delhi Dynamos’ big name signing was former Salgaocar captain Francis Fernandes.

Meanwhile Pune picked up former Churchill Brothers duo Lenny Rodrigues and Dharmaraj Ravanan.

You can check out photos from the event on the Indian Super League’s Official Facebook page.

Who got whom?

Pune: Lenny Rodrigues, Dharmaraj Ravanan, Ashutosh Mehta, Joaquim Abranches, Pritam Kotal, Manish Maithani, Israil Gurung,

Mumbai: Subrata Pal, Lalrindika Ralte, Syed Rahim Nabi, Raju Gaikwad, Subash Singh, Ram Malik, Deepak Mondal

Kerala Blasters: Mehtab Hossain, Sandesh Jhingan, Ishfaq Ahmed, Gurwinder Singh, Nirmal Chettri, Sushant Matthew, Godwin Franco

Atletico de Kolkata: Cavin Lobo, Arnab Mondal, Denzil Franco, Rakesh Masih, Mohammed Rafique, Mohammed Rafi, Biswajit Saha

Bengaluru: Harmanjot Khabra,Dhanachandra Singh, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Gouramangi Singh, Shilton Paul, Denson Devadas, Khelemba Meitei

Delhi Dynamos: Francis Fernandes, Robert Lalthamuana, Naoba Singh, Shylo Malswamtluanga, Shouvik Ghosh, Shouvik Chakraborty, Munmun Lugun

North East United FC: Kunzang Bhutia, Jibon Singh, Durga Boro, Aibor Khongjee, Zodingliana Ralte, TP Rehnesh, Boithang Haokip

Goa: Laxmikant Kattimani, Debabrata Roy, Gabriel Fernandes, Clifford Miranda, Jewel Raja, Alwyn George, Narayan Das

Football merchandise - upto 50% off!


Published 22 Jul 2014, 07:44 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now