I-League: Top five relegation deciders

Amoy Ghoshal
Modified 10 Feb 2014
Top 5 / Top 10

The I-League resumes on Tuesday with a potential relegation six-pointer between Churchill Brothers and Rangdajied United. Sportskeeda lists five previous relegation deciders of the I-League era.

The list is in chronological order

Viva Kerala 1-3 East Bengal (February 17 2008)

Alvito was inspirational for East Bengal

Alvito was inspirational for East Bengal

East Bengal came into the inaugural season of the I-League as Federation Cup holders but were threatened by relegation after a string of poor results under Subroto Bhattacharya. But the appointment of club legend Manoranjan Bhattacharya saw a change in fortunes as they recorded surprise wins over Dempo and Mahindra United. But a goalless draw against Air India and home defeat to Churchill Brothers saw the red-and-gold brigade back in danger with two games still remaining. Up next was an away clash against newly-promoted Viva Kerala, who lived up to their expectations of being one of the favourites for relegation by being in the bottom two of the 10-team league for the majority of the campaign.

A win for the Kerala club though would have seen them go level on points with East Bengal but the Kolkata giants raised their game and took the lead through Syed Rahim Nabi. Ebin Rose equalised for Viva Kerala before halftime but East Bengal always looked the more dangerous side and Alvito D’Cunha put them back in front in the second half. Subrata Pal had to produce some important saves to preserve the Kolkata club’s lead and then Brazilian Edmilson Marques sealed the points by netting the third in stoppage time. The result confirmed East Bengal’s top flight status for another season while Viva Kerala officially went down to the second division.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 10 Feb 2014
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now