About Varsity

The Varsity Four-Day Match or The University Match is played between Oxford University Cricket Club (OUCC) and Cambridge University Cricket Club (CUCC). The first Varsity match took place in 1827 and is one of the oldest first class fixtures which are still being played. It is the highest level of University matches.

The match used to be a huge social event gaining a lot of media attention and crowd. In the 1954 fixture, the crowd attendance was reported to be over 13,000 paying spectators.

First five such matches were played in the vicinity of Oxford and later on, Lord’s became the permanent venue for the Varsity matches. From 1827 to 2000, only one such match was conducted every year except during the World Wars. Since 2001, there are two fixtures conducted every year, one being the traditional four-day match, now played at Fenner’s in Cambridge and the other being a one-day match played at Lord’s.

In 173 matches, CUCC has won 60, OUCC has won 56, another 56 matches were drawn and one match was abandoned without a ball being bowled.

2018 fixture

The four-day Varsity match this year will be conducted from 22 June 2018 at the Lord’s stadium in London. The match will start at 11:00 local time.

Last Modified May 30, 2018 11:50 IST
App download animated image Get the free App now