New User posted their first comment
Baroda 120/9 (20 ov)
Tamil Nadu 123/3 (18 ov)
Tamil Nadu won by 7 wickets
Player of the match: Manimaran Siddharth
Over 100 games, and now we have one winner, Tamil Nadu. Perhaps, the side that deserves it the most having been the only unbeaten side in the tournament. That's it from the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy and the LIVE coverage of the final. I, Sarthak karkhanis sign off on behalf of my colleague Prasanth Sathish. It's been an absolute pleasure covering this game. The BCCI has announced that it will host the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the details of the tournament will be out soon. Do join Sportskeeda for the LIVE coverage of the T10 league. 
The honorary secretary of the BCCI hands the trophy to the winning captain, Dinesh Karthik. Tamil Nadu players and support staff pose with the trophy. 
Dinesh Karthik: We missed by a whisker last year but we were consistent this year and that's the sign of a good team. Sundar, Natarajan played the tourney last year but this year they are playing for the country but in spite of that we did well and players from the state playing for India means that the state is doing well. 4-5 years have been great for me personally and I know that these performances in domestic cricket will help make a comeback in the Indian team. This is the biggest stadium in India and the world and I hope it will be an IPL venue soon and it deserves to host an IPL and International match soon. It has a good dressing room and facilities. Prasaannna and I have a good relationship and we decide the strategies together. The support staff does credit for doing well and keeping us in the bubble.
M Siddharth: I wanted to keep it simple and do well for the team. I always want to keep it simple. I have been working hard on my variations like the arm-ball which I bowled today.  
Devdhar: I would like to congratulate the TN side for winning this match and our side as well for reaching this stage in spite of missing the big players. I would extend my gratitude towards the support staff who did and our tourney was good and we can afford to have one bad day
Amol Muzumdar is hosting the presentation as Tamil Nadu will be presented with the silverware which they have been playing for. 
Baroda's bowling was decent but not penetrative enough. Meriwala was the only bowler who threatened the TN batsmen and although the bowlers were consistent they couldn't pick the wickets. 
Tamil Nadu join the club of winning the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy twice. That victory came way back in the 2006-07 in the inaugural edition of the tournament. Dinesh Karthik was a part of that side as well and today he leads the side to their second title.
It has been a well-deserved trophy for Tamil Nadu. They outplayed all sides in the group stages and in the knockout stages, they came through tough situations  to reach the final. In the final, they reduced Baroda to 36-6 and from there on although there was a brief fightback, the Baroda side never really were in control in the match. Jagadeeshan and Nishant gave a decent start and later Aparajith and Nishanth consolidated from there on. The southpaw was dismissed but DK also played sensibly until he played a poor shot. Shahrukh Khan added the finishing touch and TN are now 2-time Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy champions! 
17.6 Lukman Meriwala to Shahrukh Khan, TAMILNADU ARE CHAMPIONS!! What a moment, they have come close a couple of times off late and have fallen short but they have been clinical today. Length ball outside the off-stump and Shahrukh creams this one through covers and they erupt in joy, it's been an outstanding effort
17.5 Lukman Meriwala to Shahrukh Khan, SIX! WHAT A HIT! Full and in the slot and Shahrukh holds his pose as he thumps this one over long-on for a maximum. Terrific hit that!
17.4 Lukman Meriwala to Baba Aparajith, short of a good-length just outside the off-stump and Aparajith walks across and tucks it away to the leg side for a single.
17.3 Lukman Meriwala to Shahrukh Khan, full-toss outside the off-stump and Shahrukh creams this drives straight to sweeper covers for a single
17.2 Lukman Meriwala to Shahrukh Khan, FOUR! Short of a length just outside the off-stump and Shahrukh has hammered this one past mid-wicket to pick up a boundary. Brute force on display, that's what he is known for.
17.1 Lukman Meriwala to Baba Aparajith, full-length ball outside the off-stump and Aparajith gets it off the inside half of the bat to the leg side. A miss field means they make the single easily at the end.
15 runs needed off the final 3 overs and with Aparajith and Shahrukh Khan just formalities remain. 
Over: 17 | Summary: W 1 2 1 1 0 Bowler: Babashafi Pathan Score: 106/3
16.6 Atit Sheth to Shahrukh Khan, BOUNCER! Short of a length outside the off-stump and Shahrukh looking to pull it away is beaten this time for pace.
16.5 Atit Sheth to Baba Aparajith, good-length ball, tucked away off the pads by Aparajith and he picks up a single.
16.4 Atit Sheth to Shahrukh Khan, short of a good-length outside the off-stump and Shahrukh pulls this one away past mid-wicket for a single.
App download animated image Get the free App now