Asian Games 2018: Cycling, Day 12, Live Score, Latest Updates & Results

By Sportskeeda Desk | Last ModifiedAug 30, 2018 17:05 IST

Follow ALL the LIVE updates of India's events in Cycling at Asian Games here!


17:05 (IST)30 AUG 2018

And with that ends the cycling action for the day. Join us again tomorrow for the final day of cycling at the Asian Games 2018.

16:52 (IST)30 AUG 2018

With that Japan's Eiya Hashimoto takes GOLD in the Men's Omnium, Hong Kong's Leung Chun Wing takes Silver and Bronze goes to Kazakhstan's Artyom Zakharov.

16:51 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Thailand's Patompob Phonarjthan wins the Points Race with 17, China's Zhihui Jiang is second and Japan's Eiya Hashimoto is third.

16:43 (IST)30 AUG 2018

India's Manjeet Singh does not finish and any hopes he had of not finishing bottom might have gone with that.

16:41 (IST)30 AUG 2018

And we are underway in the Points race.

16:16 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Now all that remains is the final event of the Men's Omnium, the Points race to decide to who takes home GOLD.

15:33 (IST)30 AUG 2018

In the women's 3000m Individual Pursuit, South Korea's Jumi Lee took GOLD, China's Hong Wang took Silver and Chinese Taipei's Ting Ying Huang walked away with bronze.

15:10 (IST)30 AUG 2018

And history is made in the Men's Sprint as Malaysia take GOLD, Japan take SILVER.

15:01 (IST)30 AUG 2018

In the overall standings after three stages, India's Manjeet Singh is last with just 26 points.

14:59 (IST)30 AUG 2018

At the end of three stages of the Men's Omnium, Japan's Eiya Hashimoto is top while Hong Kong's Leung Chun Wing and Kazakhstan's Artyom Zakharov are joint second.

14:56 (IST)30 AUG 2018

The defending champion, Japan's Eiya Hashimoto wins the Elimination and he is now top of the overall standings.

14:56 (IST)30 AUG 2018

It is between Japan and South Korea to see who wins the elimination race.

14:54 (IST)30 AUG 2018

The leader, Hong Kong's Chun Wing has been eliminated. He will finish fifth in this race.

14:53 (IST)30 AUG 2018

And then there were six. This has been a breathtaking race so far.

14:52 (IST)30 AUG 2018

The eliminations are coming thick and fast. Both the riders who were involved in the crash are now gone.

14:49 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Now both of them are back in the peloton and the gun goes again and we are back underway.

14:49 (IST)30 AUG 2018

The cyclists continue to race and the two drivers involved in the crash rejoin the race.

14:48 (IST)30 AUG 2018

There is a crash and the race has been neutralized. No elimination happening right now.

14:47 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Mongolia's Jambaljamts Sainbayar is the third to be eliminated. He was in contention for a medal and that is a huge shock.

14:45 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Manjeet Singh is the first to be eliminated. He will take last place in the race.

14:44 (IST)30 AUG 2018

The gun goes off and we are underway. After a couple of laps the bell rings. 

14:43 (IST)30 AUG 2018

And we are finally ready to go. The whistle sounds and we are underway.

14:41 (IST)30 AUG 2018

The rules are pretty simple. The aim of the game is to not get eliminated. Every time the bell sounds, whoever is last is eliminated and the last cyclist standing wins the race.

14:40 (IST)30 AUG 2018

After the Tempo Race, Hong Kong's Chun Wing is top with 68. India's Manjeet Singh is second from bottom with just 20 points.

14:37 (IST)30 AUG 2018

And we are about to get underway in the elimination race of the Men's Omnium.

10:02 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Overall, Manjeet is in 17th position with 20 points. Next up in the omnium is the elimination race, which will begin at 2.36 pm.

09:53 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Hong Kong's Leung Chun Wing wins the Tempo Race of the Men's Omnium. India's Manjeet is joint-11th but he picked up no points in the Tempo Race.

09:51 (IST)30 AUG 2018

The bell goes for the final lap. It looks like Chun Wing will come out on top.

09:49 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Nine laps to go and it is still extremely close at the top between Hong Kong and Japan.

09:48 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Now Japan's Hashimoto is tied with Hong Kong's Chun Wing at 7 points apiece.

09:47 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Honh Kong's Chun Wing leads the way with 7 and Hashimoto is second with five with just 14 laps left to go.

09:46 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Bahrain and Syria both lose 20 points for losing a lap.

09:44 (IST)30 AUG 2018

25 laps to go. And two cyclists are tied for top spot. Hong Kong and Japan have four apiece.

09:43 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Japan's Hashimoto is still leading with four points but his position is under threat.

09:43 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Now the rest of the pack have caught up. This is exciting stuff.

09:42 (IST)30 AUG 2018

The Japanese and Iranian cyclists are working in tandem. So far Japan have three points while Iran have two after five laps.

09:41 (IST)30 AUG 2018

The bell goes off and the sprint has begun and the defending Asian Champion is on the attack and he takes the first point.

09:40 (IST)30 AUG 2018

And we are underway. Nothing will happen for the first five laps then it all starts after that. 40 laps in the race and you get points for winning a lap.

09:38 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Now it is is time for the Men's Omnium. After the Scratch race, we now move onto the Tempo Race. India's Manjeet Singh has 10 points and is currently in 16th. Can he move up?

09:26 (IST)30 AUG 2018

And it is all over as Hoi Yan Jessica Lee qualifies for the quarter-finals and both Indians are out of contention for a medal in the Women's Sprint.

09:23 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Next up in the Women's Sprint Round of 16 will be India's Deborah Herold who will take on Hong Kong's Hoi Yan Jessica Lee.

09:19 (IST)30 AUG 2018

UPDATE: Unsurprisingly, India’s Chaoba Devi fails to qualify for the women’s 3,000m individual pursuit medal round. Of the 10 cyclists, her time of 4:05.298 means that she finished last last in the qualification round.

09:14 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Sze Wai Lee wins comfortably and it is probably the biggest no contest of the track so far. The Hong Kong cyclist is through to the quarter-final.

09:13 (IST)30 AUG 2018

This is all over before it even began.

09:13 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Sze Wai Lee is waiting and watching and biding her time. There goes for  the bell and Wai Lee just coasts past her.

09:12 (IST)30 AUG 2018

First up it is India's Aleena Reji vs Sze Wai Lee. The winner will advance to the quarter-final while the loser will be eliminated.

09:12 (IST)30 AUG 2018

And we are underway in the Women's Sprint Round of 16.

08:49 (IST)30 AUG 2018

In the Women's Sprint Round of 16, Deborah Herold will take on Hong Kong's Hoi Yan Jessica Lee. That begins in just under 20 minutes. In the other clash featuring an Indian, Aleena will face Hong Kong’s Sze Wai Lee.

08:44 (IST)30 AUG 2018

Chaoba Devi finishes with a timing of 4:05.298 in her qualifying heat, while her opponent finished with 3:47.570. That all but certainly means that she is out of contention for the medal round.

08:43 (IST)30 AUG 2018

In the women’s 3,000m individual pursuit, India’s Chaoba Devi Elangbam will be in action. And it is underway.
chat-icon Live Chat online
App download animated image Get the free App now